Changing cases, the Dreadful inspiron 518, to the Thermaltake WingRS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2009, 01:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Changing cases, the Dreadful inspiron 518, to the Thermaltake WingRS

Yes, yes, it is me! Again!

Im turning my inspiron into my own custom build, slowly. I started with the video card, and the power supply, and now, I want to change the case (But I dont know if I can because I know dell builds their motherboards ONLY to fir their cases)

First off, the reason why I want to change the case is simple. I want a new CPU, and for that, Ill need a new mobo (This will happen some time in the late future though)

Alright, my one and only question is this. Will this be a compatible case swap.

Dell inspiron 518, and the Thermaltake wingRS (Thermaltake WingRS 100 ATX Piano-Black Mid-Tower Case with Front USB and Audio ports VG1000BNS in Canada at TigerDirect.ca)

The only things I've touched in this computer is the vid card and the PSU (3450 > 9800GT)

I need to know if this will work, without ANY problems or ANY other upgrades (Like a new mother board)
__________________

TekBubs is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 03:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Changing cases, the Dreadful inspiron 518, to the Thermaltake WingRS

I would just wait until you get the new mb. Then you will have no issues.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 03:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Changing cases, the Dreadful inspiron 518, to the Thermaltake WingRS

Yeah good point lol

Ima buy some ram instead, put her up to 4gb, dell decided to fill up all of my slots with 2 512s and 2 1gbs...smart asses
TekBubs is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 03:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Changing cases, the Dreadful inspiron 518, to the Thermaltake WingRS

what os are you running? specifically is it 32bit or 64bit? my guess is 32bit since dell filled it with 3gb which is about the maximum a 32bit system can use. Again save your money now because you could probably get better ram with your new mb.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 04:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Changing cases, the Dreadful inspiron 518, to the Thermaltake WingRS

As Hef said, it would be useless to spend $ to put it to 4GB if you have a 32-Bit OS, you wont recognize but less than half a gig more if you went to 4GB.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 07:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Changing cases, the Dreadful inspiron 518, to the Thermaltake WingRS

Or you could buy the case, try to fit your current motherboard and if it does't fit just put it back in your current case. I would not be so eager to upgrade from 3-4GB on an OS which is most likely 32bit anyway.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.