Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2007, 11:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock

The P35 only supports Crossfire, and SLI is not necessary.

Just get a good pair of DDR2-800s like the Crucial Ballistix. They overclock to DDR2-1200, right out the box.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock

p35 only supports crossfire atm, but dual video cards arent really worth the money. Just stick with ddr2 800 and overclock it. The price difference of going up to ddr2 1066 is crazy.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock

That system is looking very good, but the power supply isn't really up to par. I would suggest either the Corsair 520HX:
Buy.com - Corsair 520W SLI Certified Modular ATX Power Supply - CMPSU-520HX
or the XClio GREATPOWER:
Newegg.com - XCLIO GREATPOWER X14S4P3 550W ATX12V 550W Power Supply 100-240V / 200-240V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 135
Default Re: Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock

Why isn't the PSU any good just out of curiousity? I get confused when adding up how much power a system uses when picking out a PSU. Can you explain that to me? What is my current setup using compared to the 500 Antec one I got picked out... how is it under par? Not trying to argue just trying to understand because I'm a PSU newb hehe
Mechtech3000 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock

Well one reason, Antec was not as good as it was before. I remember Antecs use to be recommended all the time. I'm just recommending you a higher quality power supply, for the money. And the ones I suggested, have more headroom for overclocking, and future upgrades.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 135
Default Re: Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock

gotcha thx !
Mechtech3000 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechtech3000 View Post
You guys are being very very helpful btw I really appreciate it. I will definitely be ordering my parts Friday for sure.

Ok so far I got:

Newegg.com - Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Newegg.com - ASUS P5K DELUXE/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
Newegg.com - Antec earthwatts EA500 ATX12V v2.0 500W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, FCC, TUV, CE, CB, C-tick, CCC - Retail
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Newegg.com - LG Black 18X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 18X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner - OEM

Anything I'm missing or anything you guys think I should change?
that PSU may be pushing it... get a corsair 520...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 135
Default Re: Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock

Yea I'm getting the Corsair 520 now
__________________

Mechtech3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.