Change of plans - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2011, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: GUAM
Posts: 31
Default Change of plans

Hello I posted about last week what my new gaming rig consisted of. And got some great feedbacks and made the changes that were suggested...this is what I got now:

Case: Thermaltake blacx v9(same)
CPU: i7 2600k sandybridge 3.4ghz(changed from AMD phenom ii x6 1090t)
CPU cooler: coolermaster v10(changed from stock)
Mobo: gigabyte p67-ud7(changed from gigabyte 880GA-ud3h)
Ram: g.skill 8gb 1866mhz(same)
PSU: Gamer series 880w cool power(same)
GPU: Msi n580gtx 3gb ddr5(same)
SSD: intel x25-m 80gb gen2(new)
HDD: raid0 setup - 1TB seagate barricuda 7200rpm 32mb cache(new)

Well this is my new make im still making decisions for storage system but what im leaning towards if possible the setup I listed with 1 SSD and raid0 setup of the HDDs.

Hopefully with this setup i can oc my cpu to 4.7+ I hear some pp get 5+ idk how liable that is lol.

Please lemme jnow if anything
Thanj you again for yhe feedbacks, eased my decision making for this rig.
__________________

Jack_who689 is offline  
Old 07-28-2011, 08:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Change of plans

The Cooler Master V10 is a huge waste of money. I have one here that I tested and boxed back up, and its such a failure that I won't even give it away. If you want to spend that kind of money on a heatsink then you should look at the Noctua NH-D14.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-28-2011, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Default Re: Change of plans

i agree with slaymate. the Noctua is a much better heat sink than the coolermaster V10, and the sheer size of it is just ridiculous. sure the noctua is also very large, but the way the V10 is made, with its awkwardly placed fan makes it very difficult to access most of your motherboard, like the RAM. if the heat spreaders are too high, the V10 would bemaking contact with it and that would be badddd
flipp1234567 is offline  
Old 07-28-2011, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Change of plans

Or EVGA Superclock, EVGA Superclock CPU Cooler Review | Hardware Secrets
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 07-28-2011, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: GUAM
Posts: 31
Default Re: Change of plans

Ok thanks ill look into that heatsink **** the v10 looked legit lol thanks again
Jack_who689 is offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 11:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,776
Default Re: Change of plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I won't even give it away.
You sure?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 05:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Change of plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
You sure?
If you really want it I'll send it to you but only because I know your an experienced user.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
May change my build plans ... LCS people, get in here please! Slam'n Systems New Systems | Building and Buying 6 02-22-2010 08:32 AM
Can i change my Factory Restore to what i want. (change the OS and software)? pickyantivirus Microsoft Windows and Software 3 09-05-2009 05:22 PM
Comcast's change of plans Schecters Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 18 10-08-2008 08:34 PM
Increase of Resources on Shared Plans on Serverpoint.com Plans n00bie379 ISP and Web Hosting 5 05-07-2008 07:01 PM
Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 08-08-2007 12:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.