celeron - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2005, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default celeron

this is my first post in here...

how fast would a celeron 3.2 Ghz be compared to a 2.6 Ghz celeron? im wondering if there is a big difference in speed?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Just keep it the way you have it or overclock.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i want to buy the highest celeron (3.2 Ghz i think) and overclock it to 3.5-3.8 Ghz
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Why celeron? Why not SEMPRON? Celerons are, in my opinion atleast, the crappiest processors on Earth.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

first of all, i hate AMD (No offense)

and semprons are basically the AMD version of celerons.

to get an AMD, i would have to replace alot of my stuff on my PC
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea... i'd just stick with what you have now, and then save up to upgrade to a REAL COMPUTER!!! LOL. No offense, but celerons aren't very good, unless you just use Word and stuff like that. What do you use your pc for?
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 09:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

my celeron runs better than my friends pentium 4, and my other friends celeron 1.7 runs faster than mine....

i use my computer for music, pictures, downloading, surfing...

but i need more speed

my mobo has maximum support for a pentium 4 2.8 Ghz processor
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
my celeron runs better than my friends pentium 4, and my other friends celeron 1.7 runs faster than mine....

i use my computer for music, pictures, downloading, surfing...

but i need more speed

my mobo has maximum support for a pentium 4 2.8 Ghz processor
Alright since you don't do any gaming what so ever, you don't need an AMD, so go ahead and stick with intel. I'd just get the best processor for your motherboard, which in your case would be a P4 @2.8Ghz, which is gonna be pretty good, especially for speed.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
and semprons are basically the AMD version of celerons.
Sempron's might be the low end AMD but they totally blow away the celeron's,I had a 2.4Ghz celeron and it was slow as hell so i switched to a 2600+ sempron and it just eat's the celeron alive
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-11-2005, 01:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

i have a Sempron 2800 and its blows away the Celeron
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.