Case fans question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2007, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Case fans question

I heard in another forum that its bad to fill up your mobo 3 pin connections with case fans since high rpm or high load fans can draw too much power and smoke up your mobo? Does this mean that if I have the option to use either molex 4 pin or the 3 pin signal mobo connectors to go with the molex ones?

Is there any advantage to the 3 pin signal mobo connectors? I was under the impression they allow the mobo to change their speed...but people are saying it only provides power just like with the molex connectors.

In any circumstances can both of them actually be plugged in?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Case fans question

That's bull. Fans draw power in the mA's. Go with the motherboard ones for control, molex for full power. You can fill up all your motherboard fan connectors.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Case fans question

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
That's bull. Fans draw power in the mA's. Go with the motherboard ones for control, molex for full power. You can fill up all your motherboard fan connectors.
theres actually a difference now? so is that how you can change the fan speed if their hooked up to ur mobo? hmmm I hate decisions
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Case fans question

Regularly, the motherboard sensor chip senses the temperature and adjusts the fan speed accordingly. You can also use programs like Speedfan.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Case fans question

Hooking up to your motherboard, will let you fix the speed of the fan through the fan controller programs.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Case fans question

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Hooking up to your motherboard, will let you fix the speed of the fan through the fan controller programs.
or sometimes from the BIOS
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 07:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Case fans question

hmm i just realized I may have to plug in both the molex and 3 pins since for my case fans the 3 pin connector only has 1 yellow wire which is the "sense" wire instead of the ground or +12 wire. BTW does red always mean positive?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Case fans question

just get a fan controller
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Case fans question

Ya, if you can run some through the motherboard. Then you can monitor and adjust their speeds. Or you could run them off the 4 pin molex and get a fan speed controller.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: Case fans question

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
just get a fan controller
YA BCUZ THAT HAS ALOT OF RELVENC 2 DIS TRED

He didn't ask how he can change fan speed, he asked how he can change fan speed HOOKED UP TO THE MOTHERBOARD.


As said before, try SpeedFan.

Personally, I haven't gotten much luck with the program, but you might be a bit more lucky.
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Testing Antec 900 Case fans question carnageX Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 08-25-2007 01:25 PM
need case fans krazyq New Systems | Building and Buying 0 07-29-2007 05:22 AM
Case Fan Question dark strike1 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-27-2007 11:00 PM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.