Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2007, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them!

I can NEVER figure this crap out myself. I hate all those little 1 pin connections you have to make from your case to mobo.

anyway, my mobo is a DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
DL manual here please DFI Product for LANPARTY

OK, I have no clue where to connect these, and even if I did, how do I know which exact place to put it?

Here's the list:
Group 1:
Mic in
Mic bias
Ground
SPKOUT R
SPKOUT L
Return R
Return L

Group 2:
HDD LED
RESET SW
POWER LED-
POWER LED+

Group 3:
SPEAKER (4 pins)
Power SW (2 pins)

Group 5:
+VCC
Ground
+D
-D

Group 6:
Same as group 5

EDIT: yes I skipped Group 4 I don't care I hate these connections
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 06:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Phoenix219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Default Re: Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them!

These can be really confusing but with a little concentration I was able to connect all of them on my first build. Look up where all the connections go in your motherboard manual and match them up with what your case manual says and you should be fine. Don't worry if you don't get it on the first try. Just go back to the manuals and make sure everything is in the right place. Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Q6600@3.6
EVGA 780i Motherboard
2gb OCZ Reaper 900mhz 4-4-4-12
EVGA 8800gts 512mb 800/1080
2x Western Digital 250gb SATAII Raid0
Antec 850w PSU
Antec 900 Case
3DMark06 - 15544
Phoenix219 is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them!

i love my q connector. i just plug in all the litle pins and the plug that into the mobo and it works.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them!

Yeah i got spoiled with the maximus, my biggest dread was trying to hook up the power/reset/leds pins since this comp was my first build. But the maximus took care of that
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them!

ooh a fellow maximus brother, i love this mobo, have u atempted to oc past 3.5ghz yet? oh and to stay on topic use your mother board manual and your case manual.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 02:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them!

Good to hear the maximus is good for a first build that's what I'm going with for mine.

Sorry I can't help ya Quintox
900RR is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 02:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them!

I like mine, but still not stable 3.6. It is very simple if you make a mistake with this board also. It restarts every time, never had to reset the cmos yet. If you do something it does not like it will restart and go back to stock settings automatically. It is basically idiot proof.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 03:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them!

All newer Asus boards have the q connector, mine came with one as well... but I didn't use it. Anyway it really is not hard, your actual mobo should be labeled for connections, if it is not there surely is a diagram in your manual. If there isn't, call DFI.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 03:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Case connections to mobo -- how do I do it?! So many of them!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 900RR View Post
Good to hear the maximus is good for a first build that's what I'm going with for mine.

Sorry I can't help ya Quintox
i kno i recomended it
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
CoolerMaster Centurion Case... Mobo problem?? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-04-2007 01:50 PM
motherboard wont fit the case siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-22-2007 03:33 PM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
speaker connections for xblade case xcougarr7 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 06-14-2007 05:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.