carputer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2008, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default carputer

not sure if this is the right forum, but im going to make a carputer. Its going to be a amd system, around like a 3800+ probally. How would i go about powering this? i know of dc-dc converters built for carputers, but they highest i saw was 120 watts. How much do i need?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Question Re: carputer

This is a joke, right? What the heck is a carputer?
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: carputer

Are you referring to a portable system for automotive? There are 250w 12v dc supplies available as well as the 120w models.

The wattage total for the hardwares like AMD Turion cpu averaging about 45w plus video and sound as well as drives and the board have to be calculated first. Finding a separate display that runs off of a 12v power source will be the main problem however.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: carputer

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
Are you referring to a portable system for automotive? There are 250w 12v dc supplies available as well as the 120w models.

The wattage total for the hardwares like AMD Turion cpu averaging about 45w plus video and sound as well as drives and the board have to be calculated first. Finding a separate display that runs off of a 12v power source will be the main problem however.
It's called a laptop and you plug the PSU into the cigarette outlet 12v step up transformer adapter you can get at radio shack for 20 bucks. Am I missing something here?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: carputer

well, i already have a 939 build and dont want to go out and buy a laptop jsut for this.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: carputer

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicoDirenzo View Post
It's called a laptop and you plug the PSU into the cigarette outlet 12v step up transformer adapter you can get at radio shack for 20 bucks. Am I missing something here?
Exactly, it's called a laptop with power inverter.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: carputer

read my response peter (you probally were typing when i posted)
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
TY, May I have another?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 628
Default Re: carputer

wow you guys hellla helpful. maybe this worklog will help. just cause you ignorant don't mean you gotta flame a person for dreaming
__________________
Intel e6750 @ 3.2ghz
4GB Gskill HZ's @ 1066, 5-5-5-14
XFX GTX 260
EVGA 680i
Lian Li Pc-A05
TRUE Black Edition, lapped to almost mirror finish.
SHaTTaFaKKaP is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: carputer

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicoDirenzo View Post
It's called a laptop and you plug the PSU into the cigarette outlet 12v step up transformer adapter you can get at radio shack for 20 bucks. Am I missing something here?
You obviously have no idea of what I was even referring to there. I've been through this before where someone wanted to take a desktop and make it portable using a mobile cpu with a 12v power supply and not finding anything to use as a display. Not laptop but "desktop made portable".

The thought there was taking something like the display for an X-Box 360 that wouldn't work on pc. That was ruled out fast.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 09:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Talking Re: carputer

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
You obviously have no idea of what I was even referring to there. I've been through this before where someone wanted to take a desktop and make it portable using a mobile cpu with a 12v power supply and not finding anything to use as a display. Not laptop but "desktop made portable".

The thought there was taking something like the display for an X-Box 360 that wouldn't work on pc. That was ruled out fast.
Alrighty then,,,,how does the case and monitor fit in your car? Are you going to like bolt it to the dashboard? Sorry, it just seems a little goofy to me but then....my avitar says it all!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.