Which card(s)? 2x7800GT 256 MB, 7800 GTX 512 MB, etc. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 01:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default Which card(s)? 2x7800GT 256 MB, 7800 GTX 512 MB, etc.

And because I would hate to make a new topic about this, what about video cards? I'm looking at the options available, and it's come down to this -

2x 7800GT 256 MB
7800GTX 256 MB
2x 7800GTX 256 MB
7800 GTX 512 MB

Are any two options similar that it'd be almost insignificant, is the 512 MB card really worth the money, etc.?
__________________

WolvenASE is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default

the 7800 gtx is plenty good for now. Why not just get one for now and buy another when u need it... and when it's cheaper
__________________

iamkoza is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the 512MB 7800 GTX is about 33% faster than the normal GTX.
whether it's worth it depends on your wallet.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by iamkoza
the 7800 gtx is plenty good for now. Why not just get one for now and buy another when u need it... and when it's cheaper
Mainly because I don't even know how to open up a computer. xD

So would one 512 mb card be suffice, or would I be extremely happy if I got 2?
WolvenASE is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

512MB would be "enough" although 2x512MB would be a lot better.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 03:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

How would it be better? I've never really understood why two graphics cards would be needed.
WolvenASE is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

its like dual core processor, for SLI you have two GPU's working on the screen, in some cases one video card renders the top and the other renders the bottom, or you can go vertical, and then i heard something with ATI they do this checkboard thingy.

If you have the money i would say go with 2*512MB even if i hate SLI you will be extremely happy
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WolvenASE
How would it be better? I've never really understood why two graphics cards would be needed.
well 1 x 512MB 7800 GTX would be more than enough
2 if you have heaps of money
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

actually, the increase in performance wouldn't even be noticable. It's SICK. There's no use for the 7800GTX 512 yet... getting two of them is completely frivilous.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

If you were to et one 7800gtx 512 you wouldnt have to upgrade your video card for a VERY long time maybe 2 or 3 or more years.

And When your 7800gtx 512 starts being teseted by games you can just buy another one and you wont see lag for quite a while longer after that.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.