Can't install XP - New Build Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2008, 03:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Default Can't install XP - New Build Problem

Hello All:
I am hoping someone can help me with my problem. I just finished my first build and am encountering a problem when I try to install windows XP w/ SP2.

MoBo: Asus P5B (Updated to version 1902)
CPU: Q6700
Video Card: EN8800GT
RAM: 4GB Corsair (2 sticks)

I am trying to boot from CD and everything gets detected, but when I get to the screen where it says:

Welcome to Setup

* To set up Windows XP now, press ENTER
* To repair a Windows XP installation using
Recovery Console, press R
* To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3

==> ENTER....

Then the system restarts and tries to reload everything and returns to the same screen. I hit enter again, and it goes back to square one.

I have already tried booting from the HDD but to no avail and have try every other boot seting that I know. Could someone please lend me a hand on this one?

Thanks!
__________________

HostileCitizen is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 04:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default Re: Can't install XP - New Build Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by HostileCitizen View Post
Hello All:
I am hoping someone can help me with my problem. I just finished my first build and am encountering a problem when I try to install windows XP w/ SP2.

MoBo: Asus P5B (Updated to version 1902)
CPU: Q6700
Video Card: EN8800GT
RAM: 4GB Corsair (2 sticks)

I am trying to boot from CD and everything gets detected, but when I get to the screen where it says:

Welcome to Setup

* To set up Windows XP now, press ENTER
* To repair a Windows XP installation using
Recovery Console, press R
* To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3

==> ENTER....

Then the system restarts and tries to reload everything and returns to the same screen. I hit enter again, and it goes back to square one.

I have already tried booting from the HDD but to no avail and have try every other boot seting that I know. Could someone please lend me a hand on this one?

Thanks!
When it says "Please press any key to boot from CD", dont press anything. I've loaded Windows XP on my computer today and everytime it restarts it reads the CD again but just let it run after the first time.
__________________

guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 08:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Can't install XP - New Build Problem

lol yeah make sure you dont have the cd inserted and it wont even ask that. it automatically boots to a bootable cd if one is inserted, so leave it out or dont press any key like guitarplyrstevo said
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 11:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Can't install XP - New Build Problem

If I leave the CD out nothing happens. I looked again at my connections and I put my HDD on a slave SATA instead of a master.... oops... first build experiance...my fault...

Thanks SO MUCh for the quick response! If I have anyother issue I will be sure to post!
HostileCitizen is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 12:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Can't install XP - New Build Problem

Ahh, so it was an IDE hard drive. That information may have helped us out a bit
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 06:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Cool Re: Can't install XP - New Build Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by HostileCitizen View Post
Hello All:
I am hoping someone can help me with my problem. I just finished my first build and am encountering a problem when I try to install windows XP w/ SP2.

MoBo: Asus P5B (Updated to version 1902)
CPU: Q6700
Video Card: EN8800GT
RAM: 4GB Corsair (2 sticks)

I am trying to boot from CD and everything gets detected, but when I get to the screen where it says:

Welcome to Setup

* To set up Windows XP now, press ENTER
* To repair a Windows XP installation using
Recovery Console, press R
* To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3

==> ENTER....

Then the system restarts and tries to reload everything and returns to the same screen. I hit enter again, and it goes back to square one.

I have already tried booting from the HDD but to no avail and have try every other boot seting that I know. Could someone please lend me a hand on this one?

Thanks!
It should search for pevious versions of windows and then post the partition information for the drive, you choose a partition and then format the dirve quick or not or keep the file system intact. The fact that it is rebooting is telling me that your HD is not recognized and may be icorrectly set up. Does the HD show up in the Bios? You set your first boot device as cd/dvd (which ever you have) and HD as the second drive. Once all the files are copied the system will auto reboot and then you do nothing and it shold load the OS from the HD. Sounds to me like you HD is not responding. If it is IDE use the Cable Select jumper. If SATA, go to the boot priority section of the Bios and select the appropriate drive if you have more than one.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with ram in new build stevei48 System Upgrades 3 06-17-2008 01:35 PM
New build help encity5 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-26-2008 10:11 PM
Unknown Problem Zanjo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-30-2008 05:11 AM
500gig externaal usb HD ziceman Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 01:24 AM
New Build System Boot Linux/Windows... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-31-2007 02:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.