Can't decide what RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2005, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default Can't decide what RAM

I want 2GB of RAM and I have narrowed it down to 2.

2x http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...ct_Code=140227
or
2x http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...ct_Code=140967

I have heard that 2 512 are better than 1 1024 but i think that 1 1024 will allow me to add more later if I want but I want to hear everyones thoughts
__________________

Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

the 2 512 are better because they dual channel if your mobo supports it... go with 2 512 sticks

are you overclocking?
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default

yeah Iam overclocking but isn't dual channel only with pentium ( I am using amd X2 4400)
__________________
Performance Rater
| Amd 4400 X2|74gb Raptor|DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR|eVga 7800 GTX|ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED|G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB|NZXT Nemesis Elite|Antec TPII 550 Watt PSU|
Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

i very highly doubt that intel only dual channels... ok.. if your oc'ing then get the most expensive..
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sp4rtan
yeah Iam overclocking but isn't dual channel only with pentium ( I am using amd X2 4400)
No, socket 939 AMD boards support dual channel as well.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Actualy, Intel does not support Dual Channel memory. Only AMD does, Socket 939.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default

really....so am I better off getting a dual channel RAM instead of these?
__________________
Performance Rater
| Amd 4400 X2|74gb Raptor|DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR|eVga 7800 GTX|ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED|G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB|NZXT Nemesis Elite|Antec TPII 550 Watt PSU|
Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Yes, 2 sticks of 512 will perfrom better then 1 stick of 1024.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Actualy, Intel does not support Dual Channel memory. Only AMD does, Socket 939.
no, intel supports dual channel also
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default

So would I be better off getting something like this?

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...Unbuffered_OCZ
__________________

__________________
Performance Rater
| Amd 4400 X2|74gb Raptor|DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR|eVga 7800 GTX|ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED|G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB|NZXT Nemesis Elite|Antec TPII 550 Watt PSU|
Sp4rtan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.