Cant decide on Single or Dual core Processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2006, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default Cant decide on Single or Dual core Processors

I was planning to upgrade my processor form 2.6 ghz to 3.0 ghz when the new dual cores were released. I read about the new Dual core processors and heard that they are faster than the Pentium 4 series. However, Im on a budget and I'm a little confused on what to buy.

So here it is, which is faster? A 3.0 ghz single core or a 2.8 dual core processor. What would be better for gaming? In our region these two parts are about the same price range (about 180-200$). Since the new dual cores will force me to dish out some extra cash for the mobo I would like to know if it is truly better than the single core or if I wont even notice the difference.
__________________

Jadariin is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 11:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Personally I would go with the dual core.

More future proof if thats what you wanna call it.
The dual core AMD's and Single Core AMD's blow the P4's out of the water.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 11:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya if you wanna game go withe the AMD
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 11:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
ya if you wanna game go withe the AMD


No if you want to game go with Intel.....everyone knows that.....

I expect you all know what Im talking about so im not going to explain...
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

I think that was sarcasm.

I think it'd be a good idea to invest in a dual core processor.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Ok got that. But what dual core AMD processor should I get (with the same price range)? And what mobo is aproppriate for it? I'm not really familiar with AMD products and I was planning a full upgrade this year (mobo + video card + processor and maybe a power supply) since my rig is about 3 years old now. And on a side note I dont plan on over clocking since I'm not experienced.

So is an AMD 2.6 ghz better than a Intel 3.0 just by stock performance?
Jadariin is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

............You shouldn't get a AMD. Intel Conroes just released. Do a search for Intel Conroe and you will see what I mean.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NeedAcpu
............You shouldn't get a AMD. Intel Conroes just released. Do a search for Intel Conroe and you will see what I mean.
They are released on the 27th. Wait it out. Get the E6300. It is amazing. You shant be disappointed.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

It seems that conroe is quite good but it isnt released yet. And the prices are way too steep for me ($500+ for the 2.6 ghz vesion) so I guess the lower priced AMDs will do. I'm just aiming to run my Guild Wars on high settings at 1024x768 and at least run doom 3 at medium settings without lagging. I'm not looking for the latest but thanks for the info though
Jadariin is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Deathawk
I think that was sarcasm.
Um no?.....

The reason its 500+ is becuase the 2.6 Freaking RIPS.

Its not the same as an AMD.

AS stated in my previous post, Intel is clearly the better choice right now.


Get a E6300 Like Anthrax said.....
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.