Can't decide on a board - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2008, 11:23 PM   #31 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
sli ready monitors lol xd. next they will be sli ready mouses,keyboards and speakers.
i could see sli ready monitors working lol sorta, duel monitors that work with sli, with otu a third video card.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 11:27 PM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

okay, i'll be running my games at 1440x900, so i'll be good there.
Now in the future, if i were to upgrade and SLI my G92s, would my system set up be good for that?
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 03:00 AM   #33 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

i wouldn't get a 680i now, unless your going for one of the cheaper versions like a msi one which is only about 100 on newegg. but if you want sli your going to have stick which a 680i. and yes your computer will be fine to upgrade to sli with the exception of your psu which must have about 650w and a good 12v rail amperage.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 04:05 AM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

what board would you suggest with what I'm planning to get?

I have everything figured out except for the board.
Q6600
8800GTS G92
2g ddr2 1066
320gb hdd
XP pro

I was looking at the 750i FTW, but I've heard some bad things about it

and want something that is stable, and has good performance for gaming
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 04:09 AM   #35 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
what board would you suggest with what I'm planning to get?

I have everything figured out except for the board.
Q6600
8800GTS G92
2g ddr2 1066
320gb hdd
XP pro

I was looking at the 750i FTW, but I've heard some bad things about it

and want something that is stable, and has good performance for gaming
i would go for a ds3r p35 motherboard by gigabyte, this is not sli but is a very good mobo for overcloking the q6600. if u need sli the 680i A1 is also good for overclocking if you can get a good deal or a 750i which is good too but overpriced imo. dw bout sli and get a ds3r
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 04:12 AM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

okay I think i'll go ahead and get the ds3r. I don't really care for SLI right now. It'll be a while before I SLI anyway, but the 680i and 750i are still in my price range. Which out of the 680i, 750i, and ds3r do you think would perform best with a Q6600?

What is the difference between the 750i FTW by evga and the ASUS and MSI versions of the board. All I can see is that the memory standard is 1066mhz and not 800 and that there aren't any SATA slots, and apparently it is designed for overclocking.
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 07:36 PM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

I've only heard good things about the 750i FTW. I would get that or the ds3r. I had alot of problems with my 680i. I didn't have the A1 revision but still.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo? carnageX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-12-2008 07:47 PM
Problems with Mother board crash32 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-23-2008 02:19 AM
board help?? Maximuss2072 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-17-2008 11:47 AM
evga 680i board. Error code 7F veedubfreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-19-2007 02:40 PM
Sony Develops Computing Board, powered by the Cell b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 61 08-07-2007 02:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.