Can't decide on a board - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2008, 06:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

go with the q6600

680i+ wolfdales = hard times with oc'ing.. well depending on bios.. and i'm stuck on p60 bios because its the best quad core overclocker

and for 20 extra dollars i'll throw in a tuniq tower
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 09:54 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

I already have a good tower, just upgraded to a new cooler master. So the Q6600 would be better, and out perform the E8400 in pc games??

Would you be able to sell me the board, and ship it out sometime this week?

Would Vista 64 increase performance with these parts? I'll be running Xp pro
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 09:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

bored is gone!!!! sorry

but i myself would go for quad for future reasons, and programs becoming multi-threaded
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 10:00 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
bored is gone!!!! sorry

but i myself would go for quad for future reasons, and programs becoming multi-threaded
whom did you sell it too?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 10:02 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

what? you sold it since last night??

well I guess i'll just order a 680i A1 off newegg. Unless somebody may suggest something better, and I'm going with the Q6600 over the E8400 because I looked at some benchmarks and a Q6600 @ 3.6ghz slightly out performs a E8400 @ 4.2ghz

I don't think I'd be bottlenecking my 8800gts G92 with a Q6600 though.. would I?
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 10:48 PM   #26 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

no... you're far from bottlenecking.. my q6700 @ 3.37 ghz doesnt even bottleneck my gx2.. you're fine
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 11:01 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

oh okay good. I'm hoping to see a nice jump in performance from my current system.

590sli 3g ddr2 800 ram and a AMD 5000+ BE @ 3.0
to
690i A1 2g ddr2 1066 ram and a Q6600 @ 3.4 or so

I get a 3dmark of about 10k right now, think i'll be more toward 20k?
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 11:05 PM   #28 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

lol 20k requires at least 8800gt sli and around 4.1ghz

i would say something like 15k... 16k if your good at ocing
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 11:09 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

okay, i'd be happy with that.
As long as I can play Age of Conan and Crysis with it looking pretty nice and running well.

Would having Vista 64 make a big difference in performance? because i'll be running xp pro
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 11:12 PM   #30 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Can't decide on a board

nope vista x64 would only be useful if you were using more than 2gb of ram

and as long as ur playing below 1920x1200 on crysis.. you can play it on high without any problems
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo? carnageX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-12-2008 07:47 PM
Problems with Mother board crash32 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-23-2008 02:19 AM
board help?? Maximuss2072 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-17-2008 11:47 AM
evga 680i board. Error code 7F veedubfreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-19-2007 02:40 PM
Sony Develops Computing Board, powered by the Cell b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 61 08-07-2007 02:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.