cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2007, 01:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddanth3 View Post
i tried re-installing it, and it still says its not activated. its conflicting dell. will getting a new mobo work. well thanks for all your help guys.i really appreciate it, and sorry if i got some of you confused
If you REALLY think it's Dell, then call them up and ask them.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 02:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo

Hello,

I think I understand your situation now.

On how many machines is this retail copy of Windows Vista installed on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddanth3 View Post
...me and 4 other friends went and bought vista ultimate just to try something new. it worked in 3 of my friends computers which they built it them selves.. but for me and my other friend, it didnt work...
So you and your friends went and bought one retail copy of Windows Vista between all of you, and installed that copy on each of your computers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddanth3 View Post
...i know its active for 30 days, but what after that? i bought this thing, so i want it to be active for ever...
Windows Vista retail is only licensed to one PC. Theoretically, you can only activate Windows Vista with a product key on one machine at any time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddanth3 View Post
...and when i restart, it doesnt give me the option to choose between vista or xp...
Unless you specifically configured your system to dual boot Windows Vista and Windows XP, then you won't get the option to switch between the two operating systems. So, upgrading from Windows XP to Windows Vista means you'll only have Windows Vista on your PC (if there was only one Windows XP partition to begin with), and if you do a clean install of Windows Vista on a hard drive with Windows XP already installed, it will format that hard drive before installing Vista, meaning no Windows XP.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 03:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo

"Dell"
Problem solved.
RisingFalls is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 06:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo

i finally got vista to work. thanks guys for all your help and support. i just used a bios edit hack and just installed vista again, and now it works fine, and is a genuine retail verison of vista. by the way, each of my friends bought their own copies of vista.

take it easy
and thanks for all your help guys
i appreciate it a lot
__________________

siddanth3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM
Vista and MSI K8N Neo 2 Motherboard Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-26-2007 09:40 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM
Why Can't I Upgrade... Vista Hates Me saywhat5959 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-29-2007 11:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.