Can you recommend any good MB’s for ATHLON 64 with AGP slots??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2006, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
Default Can you recommend any good MB’s for ATHLON 64 with AGP slots???

hi, am going to be upgrading my PC very soon and was wondering your thoughts. Have googled for 2 days now (learned a lot!!) but always manage to get great advice here , this place rocks!!
Current specs are in signature

am thinking of getting an AMD socket 939 MB as opposed to AM2 due to cost and the amount of upgrading that needs to be done with AM2.

The plan is…
to add another 2 sticks of 1 gig DDR400 PC3200 RAM to get me up to a full 4gigs
to keep my current video card as it totally rocks
to get a ATHLON 64 3700+ 2.2GHz chip of sorts to help speed things up a bit.
Now just need a good MB to support this…

Now is it me or is the nforce4 chip only good for PCI-E video cards? Its seems that most ASUS and GIGABYTE MB having nforce4 chips only have a load of PCI-E expansion slots and I really need a AGP slot.

Can you recommend any good MB\s for ATHLON 64 with AGP slots?
And what do you think, will this upgrade be really worth it in the end?

Would like to do this upgrade and then once AM3 is reasonably priced in 2 years, do a full upgrade to PCI-E graphics and DDR3 RAM. But that is a long ways ahead.

liquidmonkey is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 04:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Shumway's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729

Asrock 939Dual-VSTA,Decent value board with good overclocking feature's,Has agp and also pci-e for better card's

Shumway is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
fade2black2004's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,629
Send a message via AIM to fade2black2004

dont get another 2gb of ram it wont make your system perform better in fact i believe that it makes it perform slower.

get that cpu, its really nice for a single core.

if you can sell your currect mobo and video card and get this

it will perform really well and you will notice a huge increase in performance in games
fade2black2004 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
b0dge's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557

The best s939 mobo that supports the AGP and PCI-E slot is the ASROCK 939DUAL-VSTA, however, if you can't get one, get the 939DUAL-SATAII, which is what i've got. You can then upgrade to a PCI-E graphics card whenever you want.

Don't go for 4Gb RAM, it won't help much. Stick with 2Gb in dual channel mode...

Oh, and if you're thinking of upgrading your CPU to s939, think Opteron!

EDIT: Jesus, Shumway's fast with his posts!!
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.