Can you guys tell me how good my computer is? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 11:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Aiea, HI
Posts: 20
Smile Can you guys tell me how good my computer is?

Hello;

I dont know much about computers. I currently use my computer for gaming.

This is my specs in my computer...

Processor: GenuineIntel Family 15 model 3 2.8 GHz
Stepping 4 (2 CPUs)

Bus Type: PCI, ISA, USB

Memory: 768 MB (41% Utilized)

Hard Disk: 80 GB

Video: 800 x 600 in 64K Colors, NVIDIA GeForce 6200 Ver. 6.14

Any inputs I will really apreciatted. Also Im having a couple of problems some times when I play Civilization 4 the game will freeze and my computer will re-start. Anybody can tell me what could be the problem? Also can I get website that will sell cheap computer parts?

Thank you

The Puerto Rican
__________________

Boricua_pr is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Aiea, HI
Posts: 20
Default

I meant to say that with the current specs Im able to play video games... but some times the games lag...
__________________

Boricua_pr is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

The gfx card is ultra low end, the processor is pretty bad, sorry, your ram is an ok amount.

Its a dell aint it?

Anyways, on a performance scale of 1-10 id give it a 3-4
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Aiea, HI
Posts: 20
Default

What could I do to fix it? what suggestion u have?
Boricua_pr is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Aiea, HI
Posts: 20
Default

Actually my father in law built it for me...
Boricua_pr is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

its not horrible....

its dual core, so thats pretty good, even though its a tad slow.

you could add 512mb of ram, and upgrade your video card (depending on your video slot).
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 306
Default

its not dual core no p4s were
it has hyperthreading which makes the computer think it has two cores
__________________







Office 2007 for Sale
StylinGolfShoes is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StylinGolfShoes
its not dual core no p4s were
it has hyperthreading which makes the computer think it has two cores
yeah I think that's right. Your computer is decent, as long as it does what you need it's a good computer. I'd just get more ram, upgrade your video card, and possibly get another Hard Drive IF you need the space.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Well if you really wan to game I would 1) give that computer to the needy 2) go buy parts 3) put them together 4) enjoy
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Since he's an extreme novice, he probably wont want to attempt building his own. His computer will be alright if he just gets a graphics card for it.

You will probably want to set your resolution above 800x600. Even web pages are starting to demand more than that. Set it to 1024x768, and you can always use large fonts if you have a hard time reading the text.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.