Can you chain power cables? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2010, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Can you chain power cables?

I'm getting ready to start putting the peripherals on my first build... can you chain power cables to things like SSDs and fans? I'm assuming the answer is yes, so I have one follow-up question in case I'm correct: is there anything other than the motherboard and CPU that you shouldn't chain?
__________________

earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 03:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can you chain power cables?

I'd not chain to many drives... I did do fans, infact, i don't think you actuaslly do any chaining other than fans. The moles plugs aren't designed to plug into each other.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Can you chain power cables?

Thanks!
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 05:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Can you chain power cables?

You mean like this?



That's mine BTW.

Hard drives don't use all that much power, so that's not really an issue.
If you have a multi-rail PSU, you might need to make sure the GPU is on a separate 12V rail to other components, or put the GPU on both rails.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 10:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Can you chain power cables?

You can chain, no problem at all.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 02:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Can you chain power cables?

Thanks, all. And yes, that picture of the hard drives is what I was talking about.
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 02:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can you chain power cables?

Ah.... sorry then... I mistook what you considered daisy chaining.... As my fans have both male and female connectors that can plug into each other.

Apok made that cable btw.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9800GX2 power cables Tobalak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-13-2008 03:30 PM
Need help recognizing power cables SiliconKing System Upgrades 7 03-26-2006 03:44 PM
Does OEM come with power cables or connector cables? dario03 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 06-20-2005 10:55 PM
Power Supply Cables Greg Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-04-2005 03:54 PM
Those power cables... 300 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-18-2004 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.