Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2011, 12:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

I have tried to find the answer to this question for a while now. Some sites, reviews and forums will say that it can crossfire at 8x8 mode and other sites and official reviews say it is completely unable to crossfire. The mobo is H57 intel and it has one 16x lane, one 4x lane, and one 1x lane. I have my x-fi titanium card in the 1x slot and it really looks like another card might not fit or would be a very tight squeeze (not length wise).

Heres the specs:
Newegg.com - Gateway FX Series FX6831-01 Desktop PC Intel Core i7 860(2.80GHz) 8GB DDR3 1.5TB HDD Capacity ATI Radeon HD 5850 Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Can someone please tell me if this is doable or not i don't want to spend money just to find out its impossible.

Thanks for the help.

Also the model of MoBo is: H57M01 if that helps thanks again
__________________

Tarmash is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

no it is not possible....
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 01:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

can you please explain it to me? i just don't understand.
Tarmash is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 10:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

To do xfire you need 2 pci-e ports running at x8 or x16. That computer only has 1 x16 and 1 at x4.

So.. no xfire or sli.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 10:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

http://image.ohozaa.com/i/e92/h57_1.jpg
You would need a second PCIe x16 slot to crossfire.

How much were you looking to spend on a new graphics card, would be more than happy to give some suggestions.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

Thanks everyone for the definite answers. Hi again Roark . I have thought about upgrading my GPU, but i just have this nagging feeling that i want to have a crossfire capable Mobo and i could also have usb3.0 and all that new stuff (be more future proof). That would mean i might need a new case though. Anythoughts on case size with my rig for a xfire mobo? I also am not comfortable with taking my computer apart and reassembling it with a new mobo. Do you think it would be very expensive to have a computer place put my new parts together with my old ones? Selling my computer to buy a new one that could xfire would probably set me back quite a bit of cash, wouldn't it? So with this in mind, any other advice or options is appreciated.

What i really would like to know is, Which mobo can i use with all my current components that will make me very future proof and fit a liquid cooling system. If i needed a bigger case, which case do you recommend.

If you think this is all too much work and money to send this to a store to be reassembled, let me know. Maybe i should stick with what i have and buy a whole new rig a few years from now.

Thanks
Tarmash is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 03:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

Hello again

In my opinion, not worth it. Upgrade the GPU when it starts to lag and it should last you a few years.

1) USB 3.0 doesn't really seem to be main-steam for components yet. And even when we hit a point when keyboards/mice/etc.. are all USB 3.0, they're all backwards compatible to 2.0.
2) Watercooling is for hardcore overclocking, yeah its cool having all those tubes running around your case, but its a waste of money if they don't serve much function. Not sure about Gateway, but I know Dell cuts most/all of the overclocking functions out of the BIOS on motherboards they send out.
3) Crossfire and SLi are nice, but imo not worth gutting your current machine for, grab a smexy single card and call it a day. Depending on budget you can get a single card that will perform just as well as 2x 5850s.

*Edit - Just realized you have an H67, not an overclocking motherboard anyway.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 10:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

Well, if i got a new mobo i could overclock for sure right? Thats why i was thinking of the watercooling, only if i got a new mobo. But your right i think about not gutting it out like that, lots of work and risk when i could just get a new GPU and be satisfied. When will the Radeon 7xxx series come out? i think i'll wait till then but how many pin connectors do they require?
Tarmash is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 11:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

Seen Q4 2011 to Q2 2012 thrown around for the 7xxx series.
Honestly though, if they drag arse with it like they are with Bulldozer it may never drop.

Can't say what they'll require for pins or power until they actually start announcing.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 04:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Can this setup do crossfire in any way or not?

Thanks, i'm just gonna wait around cause my 5850 is pretty awesome no matter what the "elites" say lol. I guess Battlefield 3 will be the ultimate test for this year...

Problem solved. But whats bulldozer lol? got a link?
__________________

Tarmash is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How's This Look for a 4850 Crossfire Setup... Irish Pilot New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-14-2008 04:39 PM
ATI Crossfire setup, im confused xbox122501 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-01-2008 03:42 PM
Crossfire Setup = ~2 9600 GTs commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-05-2008 12:34 AM
Crossfire setup vs geforce 8 AMD-DMA New Systems | Building and Buying 13 02-09-2007 03:52 PM
FS x1950xtx Crossfire Setup Jayvon Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 11-10-2006 02:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.