Can a power surge fry a PCI card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2006, 03:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default Can a power surge fry a PCI card?

So I have my desktop plugged into a surge protector, and our power flickered for a few minutes today, then went out entirely for a couple seconds.
Needless to say, my computer turned off. When I restarted it, I can't get on the internet anymore.
All my network connection says is limited or no connectivity. It cant even browse and see the 5 WLANs in my neighborhood.
Would the power surge have done this?
I cant think of anything else, I've rebooted a couple times, repaired the connection, all to no avail.
__________________

__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 03:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

if your pc is plugged into a surge protector its prolly not the card,
it could however be the router, even if thats plugged in to the protector, there's nothing shielding the cable plug into it (unless you get a surge with cable plugs) i've seen this happen alot. call up your service provider, ask if they can detect your router, if not its prolly fried...
although that doesnt explain the other wlans, unless they all got fried, which could happen. could be you have a cruddy surge protector and the card did get fried, although, if it detects in hardware manager i dont see how thats possible.
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 03:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

See, thats what I was thinking, if the PC detects the card, it would follow that it isnt totally fried...
Also, I'm using the WLAN connection with my powerbook right now, so our router is perfectly fine, as it is also plugged into a nicer protector in my fathers office.
Hmm, could the software settings in Windows XP been screwed with by the random power loss?
__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 04:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a surge might fry a PCI card, but if it did, it would probabbly fry the motherboard aswell, and possibly other components

you connect to a router, maybe the router needs to be set up again
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 05:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

The router is fine, I'm using it to surf right now on my Powerbook. And my parents both used it on their laptops earlier in the day with no issues. I've never heard of a router selectively picking one computer to change settings on and not the other 3.
__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 05:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does you card even function?
if so, does it detect the network?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

It functions and detects the network, but I cant view the list of wireless networks, it says I must use that B$ wireless zero config utility.
__________________

__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.