Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2007, 10:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_uk View Post
Im still wondering what cpu and how much ram he has, its all very well having a 8800 but you need the cpu power to push the card
In the CPU department as long as I'm concern a 2.4Ghz is a safe bet CPU even for a GTX ( I'm talking about CD2 here I don't know but I think that with AMD you need to overclock the CPU around 2.6GHz or more, obviously with a more faster CPU he don't need to worry about bottlenecking.
__________________

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 11:00 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Either the coding was not done right, or it's just a very graphically demanding game, at high resolutions.
HA! you want a game really with a bad coding?!? try Neverwinter Nights 2 trying to play that game is horrible...
__________________

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 11:05 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

I heard S.T.A.L.K.E.R's coding was bad.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 11:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

well im kind of confused... my RS6 runs smooth as, i only got 1 8800GTX, running full settings @ 1680x1050, looks **** nice, not choppy at all, sitting on 60fps i'd say but i admit i havent checked. it doesnt look like it is running anywhere near 30fps
__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 11:24 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sydzy View Post
well im kind of confused... my RS6 runs smooth as, i only got 1 8800GTX, running full settings @ 1680x1050, looks **** nice, not choppy at all, sitting on 60fps i'd say but i admit i havent checked. it doesnt look like it is running anywhere near 30fps

With HDR and all the other eyecandy? I'd like to see a screenshot of that...
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 11:25 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Take a look at this article
AnandTech: Rainbow Six: Vegas: A Performance Analysis
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 12:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattchew13 View Post
i have been unable to find out if the 8800GTS 320MB would be able to play games on this monitor. Getright Computers - - BenQ FP222W 22" 5ms Wide LCD Display

because i have read that the card will struggle on the resolution of 1650x1050 or any bigger. I want to know if the card could handel without such games like C&C 3 rainbow six vegas and as such on high settings while running vista?
I have an 8800 GTS 320MB, and a 22" monitor at 1680x1050
it runs 99% of games really well at that resolution, including C&C 3

If you have an 8800 GTS 320MB and play C&C3, I think you'll need to worry more about your CPU than your video card.
And that's only if there's a lot of units, and a lot of things happening.

Though my 6000+ at 3.4GHZ runs it well.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 12:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Although Rainbow Six: Vegas has a huge demand on system requirements, I'd say thats more likely due to bad coding. Althought the Unreal 3 engine looks impressive...it definately doesn't meet the looks/performance ratio in my opinion.
Gabb is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 11:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Vegas is a 360 port and as such runs like $!!T.

make sure you don't go cheap on the processor here, as you do need a good one to push an 8800.
macdawg is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 04:01 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia, South Australia
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to mattchew13
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

my cpu is a 2.67ghz core 2 duo overclocked to 3.1ghz with stock cooling
__________________

mattchew13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free copy of Dawn of War with the purchase of an gigabyte 8800gts 320mb veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-17-2007 09:09 AM
8800GTS 320mb or 512mb 7950GT?? Raze664 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-05-2007 07:55 AM
8800gts 320mb or x1950xt 256mb? rx7i2 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-30-2007 04:36 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.