Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2007, 08:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia, South Australia
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to mattchew13
Question Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

i have been unable to find out if the 8800GTS 320MB would be able to play games on this monitor. Getright Computers - - BenQ FP222W 22" 5ms Wide LCD Display

because i have read that the card will struggle on the resolution of 1650x1050 or any bigger. I want to know if the card could handel without such games like C&C 3 rainbow six vegas and as such on high settings while running vista?
__________________

mattchew13 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 08:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Yes it will, although it is more suited for a 19" screen.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 08:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia, South Australia
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to mattchew13
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

how much would it support games and performance at that resolution??
mattchew13 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 08:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

I'd say it would do pretty well, in 1680 x 1050. It's smaller than 1600 x 1200. I usually think of 1600 x 1200, as the cutting point to the 640mb version.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattchew13 View Post
i have been unable to find out if the 8800GTS 320MB would be able to play games on this monitor. Getright Computers - - BenQ FP222W 22" 5ms Wide LCD Display

because i have read that the card will struggle on the resolution of 1650x1050 or any bigger. I want to know if the card could handel without such games like C&C 3 rainbow six vegas and as such on high settings while running vista?
C&C 3 no problem.....there's a 30fps limit anyway in that game...however with full details I RB6 Vegas is going to be quite choppy.

At only 1280x960 even a 8800GTX barely passes 60fps average...and even a 640mb 8800GTS can't do 60fps in RB6 Vegas at 1024x768..the game is demanding as ****.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattchew13 View Post
i have been unable to find out if the 8800GTS 320MB would be able to play games on this monitor. Getright Computers - - BenQ FP222W 22" 5ms Wide LCD Display

because i have read that the card will struggle on the resolution of 1650x1050 or any bigger. I want to know if the card could handel without such games like C&C 3 rainbow six vegas and as such on high settings while running vista?
whats your pc spec? if you dont have a fast enough processor then you wont get the full potential of the card
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 10:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

The "lowest" 8800 card can handle "high" resolutions well but from what I hear and I have read the card start dropping in terms of performance at 1600x1200 or higher but that doesn't mean you can't run games at higher resolutions.
Give it a try and decide it if you like it or not.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 10:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

wow! why is rainbow 6 vegas so demanding?
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 10:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Either the coding was not done right, or it's just a very graphically demanding game, at high resolutions.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 10:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution

Im still wondering what cpu and how much ram he has, its all very well having a 8800 but you need the cpu power to push the card
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free copy of Dawn of War with the purchase of an gigabyte 8800gts 320mb veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-17-2007 09:09 AM
8800GTS 320mb or 512mb 7950GT?? Raze664 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-05-2007 07:55 AM
8800gts 320mb or x1950xt 256mb? rx7i2 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-30-2007 04:36 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.