Can my PSU handle HD4870 ? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2008, 12:42 PM   #31 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

i'll try those settings.
anyone else get smoke lag? like when you run into a smoke grenade i go chop-chop-chop.
never happens any other time. and doesnt happen all the time with smoke. maybe a server issue?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 12:48 PM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

smoke seems to be nvidias achilles heel. Even my 3850 did loads better than my vmodded 8800GTS 512mb with smoke in CoD4, although the overall framerate was much lower.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 01:09 PM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

I never had problems with smoke with my 8800 gt :/
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 01:23 PM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

turn on 4xAA and walk into a smoke grenade and i guarantee you the framerate will drop dramatically.

then imagine getting airbombed at the same time. death to framerate
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 01:56 PM   #35 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
1. with 16A on the +12V rail (192W), you'd be pushing it with that PSU, but if you're not running much else from it, it should work fine.
If it were me, I'd get a new PSU anyway. Something like this with 60A on the +12V rail, high quality components, and ~83-85% efficient across a very wide range of load conditions
With my budget I could barely get an HD4870, so no I can't spend more for a new PSU. And in the place where I live that PSU would could cost me much more than newegg.

I like to have an HD4870, but I won't get it until I make sure that my PSU can really hadle it with no problems

I might get HD4850 instead since it is cheaper and consume less power. But I heard from many people that HD4850 produce a lot of heat, more heat than HD4870
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 02:04 PM   #36 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

the 4850 produces much less heat than the 4870...it's just that the stock cooler does not spin up very fast unless you flash the bios or use a custom ccc profile.

Or you can install an aftermarket cooler like the Akasa Neo Vortexx.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 02:55 PM   #37 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

accelero s1 rev 2 ftw

Does the 4850 really produce less heat? Or is it just because it is clocked lower?

Oh, and **** that copper heatsink on my 4850 was HOT to the touch after like 4 3dmark06 runs haha.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:00 PM   #38 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

well, it uses less power than the 4870...
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:23 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Guys, im pretty sure the 4870 uses less power than his GTS 320, and hes not even going to oc either.

Are you trying to say that it will use more than 14 amps alone?

Seriously, the card will run just fine.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:48 PM   #40 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

i think it uses more power than a GTS 320mb...but you're right, if everything is at stock it shouldn't be a problem
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Office PC PSU Dead? MerkwŁrdigeliebe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-24-2008 07:58 PM
need to know if psu can handle some more hardware Drogos System Upgrades 2 07-12-2008 12:39 AM
Can my PSU handle this? stainer711 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-05-2008 09:01 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.