Can my PSU handle HD4870 ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2008, 01:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

wait wait guys, So the 4870 consumes 7% more energy? or is only 7% faster?

If its only 7% faster, whats the point of spending like the double for only 7% faster?

Do those additional fans they sell for the graphics card really work? PCI fans I think their called.
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 01:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

It'll be fine, the GTS 320mb consumes more power on average.

And its tons better, it should be. Also if you're looking for some Crysis performance increase, try the very high hack for XP.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ric0h View Post
wait wait guys, So the 4870 consumes 7% more energy? or is only 7% faster?

If its only 7% faster, whats the point of spending like the double for only 7% faster?

Do those additional fans they sell for the graphics card really work? PCI fans I think their called.
At the same CORE clocks, meaning a 4870 at 750 and a 4850 at 750, the 4870 is only 7% better. The 4850 needs to be Overclocked to reach that, and in some cases you need to perform a bios, pencil, or volt mod to get even that high of clocks.

The 4870 is still a great card, and when overclocked it can reach 850 with ease without these mods. But still, thats if you have the money to spend, and if you want to save $130 or so you can get a nice card that is just a little bit under the 4870.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Maybe Gurusan will be able to guide you through the volt modding process
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

I want to bios mod, it sounds easy and you can still get to 850mhz core according to some guy on XS.

If it works out, I'll make sure I transfer the info (giving proper credit to the people who posted it at xs) so that people with 4850's here can enjoy 850mhz of pure goodness.

I'll be happy with 750 though o_0 if this doesn't work I'm pencil modding.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 03:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
I want to bios mod, it sounds easy and you can still get to 850mhz core according to some guy on XS.

If it works out, I'll make sure I transfer the info (giving proper credit to the people who posted it at xs) so that people with 4850's here can enjoy 850mhz of pure goodness.

I'll be happy with 750 though o_0 if this doesn't work I'm pencil modding.
ya use that XOC BIOS
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 03:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Is HD4870 larger than my 8800GTS 320MB in size ?

I'm asking this to make sure that it fits in my case
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 03:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

its no longer than a 8800 GTX, so about 10.5 Inches.

And yes your PSU is enough.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 03:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
ya use that XOC BIOS
I think your talking about the the bios for the 4870 that lets you hit 990mhz with CCC. I purchased a 4850. I already found the bios I will be using though on XS, it gives you alot of headroom and adds some extra voltage. The bios creator says 1.3, but its more like 1.212 or something. Which is fine, thats enough to get 750, or so I hear.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 03:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Maroon you should be alright with that PSU since AFAIK you are running everything at stock....but the 4870 does suck lots of power and it would make me nervous running the PSU at full tilt while gaming.

You might want to put a new PSU next on your list...a good solid HX620w or similar will last you for years and years.

As for it being an upgrade over an 8800GTS, lol yes very much so. I used to have a 640mb 8800gts vmodded (as well as a G92 vmodded 8800GTS 512mb) and this card is massively faster than both. It really shows its true colors when you start heaping on all the AF and AA.

Here are some GRID benches I've just done, my 4850 is at 820/1150 so it's faster than a stock 4870, but it should give you a good idea of how it performs.
Quote:
settings are 1680x1050 everything maxed out in-game, switched on and set to highest except Vsync...and CCC set to high quality.

The bench is recorded with fraps, it was a replay of a race about 4 min long

8xMSAA
Min---Max----Avg
44---112----82.533

12x Narrow Tent
Min---Max---Avg
32---75----58.529

24x Edge Detect
Min---Max---Avg
29---74----46.132

IQ and AA Differences

To more easily see differences open them up each in their own tab and once they are finished loading switch between them.

NoAA
http://jra1jw.bay.livefilestore.com/...xnD9E/noAA.png

8xAA
http://jra1jw.bay.livefilestore.com/...oFc/8xMSAA.png

12x Narrow Tent
http://jra1jw.bay.livefilestore.com/...NarrowTent.png

24x Edge Detect
http://jra1jw.bay.livefilestore.com/...wN_k/24xED.png





also 8xAA seems fine to me. There is a tad bit of aliasing but the game still looks purdy to me! Also get around 85-90 constant

click for full
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Office PC PSU Dead? Merkwürdigeliebe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-24-2008 07:58 PM
need to know if psu can handle some more hardware Drogos System Upgrades 2 07-12-2008 12:39 AM
Can my PSU handle this? stainer711 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-05-2008 09:01 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.