Can my PSU handle HD4870 ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2008, 09:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Can my PSU handle HD4870 ? If not then what about HD4850 ? And are you sure 100% ?

The name of my PSU is Thermaltake TR2-550W

And here is a link for my PSU
Pure Power TR2 550W Power Supply-W0101/102


Also, do you think going from 8800GTS 320MB to HD4850 or HD4870 is a good upgrade ? Would I notice huge difference in all games I play (including Crysis) ?

EDIT: I have another question. Do I need to get an extra cooler to keep the heat level down for HD4870 ? I'm asking this because I heard that HD4870 produce a lot of heat.
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

A 4850 with the same core clocks as a 4870 is something like 7% difference.
Over at XS
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
another member and I ran some CoH benches on another forum and compared results. Remember his memory bandwidth is x4 effective, mine is x2 effective.

These are our quick results.

You will defiantly see an fps increase whichever one you choose. If you purchase the 4870 you will be able to reach higher clocks without performing bios/pencil/or volt mods and ddr5 that gives about a 7% increase in fps. But your also paying close to $130 more.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 09:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

I'm not planning to overclock my video card. And HD4870 at stock speeds has higher clock speed than HD4850

What about my other questions ? Can my PSU handle HD4870 with no problems ?
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

if u can power are 8800gts 320mb, chances are youll run a 4850 or even 4870 fine. in ur case ur TT psu has 14A on the first 12v rails and 15 on the next, so yes you'll be fine running that in your system.

and yes i second both would bve a worthwhile upgrade, but i would go the 4870.

as for crysis, thats really the only game that the 4870/50 actually dont do that well in, but it was kinda engineered for nvidia cards, and lacked support for alot of cards.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 09:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Seems like it will consume a little less power than a 8800 ultra. Although the 4800 series has a lot of power consumption. I think you would be good though with that PSU.

Power Consumption - Tom's Hardware : Radeon HD 4870: Better Than GTX 260!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 09:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
as for crysis, thats really the only game that the 4870/50 actually dont do that well in, but it was kinda engineered for nvidia cards, and lacked support for alot of cards.
But at least it should perform much better than my one year old GTS 320MB in Crysis, right ? !

Based on the reviews I seen the HD4870 outperforms GTX 260 in Crysis !
Crysis - Tom's Hardware : Radeon HD 4870: Better Than GTX 260!
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 10:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

Why not overclock?

Wait... you still haven't OC'd your q6600?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 10:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 30
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

I have a 4850 running off a 650 PSU just fine. The card idles at 50 c with a stock fan not overclocking. I bought mine off newegg. If you will not overclock I would stick with the stock fan. I don't know about your other questions.
Jayhwker01 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 10:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

OMG, Maroon1 is getting an ATI graphics card! Haha, I am just kidding. But it is good to see AMD/ATI has won over another non-believer.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 10:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Can my PSU handle HD4870 ?

I feel bad for the poor, poor, ati card that maroon gets... he isn't going to OC it! -_- what a waste of potential :P
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Office PC PSU Dead? Merkwürdigeliebe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-24-2008 07:58 PM
need to know if psu can handle some more hardware Drogos System Upgrades 2 07-12-2008 12:39 AM
Can my PSU handle this? stainer711 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-05-2008 09:01 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.