Can i use an external HDD for my main HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2007, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Can i use an external HDD for my main HDD

The question is simple.

Can i use an external HDD for my main HDD?
I dont have an internal one that is clean so i was wondering if i could use an external one to install and run Windows XP
__________________

DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Can i use an external HDD for my main HDD

I'm almost positive the answer is no becuase it's a whole different interface. Externals are just used as space while Internals are specifically made with SATA, ATA, etc interface for speed so they can run windows.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 11:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Can i use an external HDD for my main HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
I'm almost positive the answer is no becuase it's a whole different interface. Externals are just used as space while Internals are specifically made with SATA, ATA, etc interface for speed so they can run windows.
My short answer...

Take apart your external HD. If your HD is SATA or IDE you can use it as an internal HD. Most of the external HD's are an interface that you could use in your computer.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 10:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Can i use an external HDD for my main HDD

ok thanks dude. I am gona just get the internal HDD that i got that was defective and get it replaced ..... again.
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hard drive space issue Thechosenone Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-06-2007 12:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.