Can I SLI from two different brands? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2016, 10:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

Can't wait to see how much of a leap the new generation of GPUs is. I'm hoping it's significant so we can get into the 4K era a little easier.

Plus, it will be awesome if Direct X 12 actually does get multi-GPU support where completely different cards can work together. I know it won't do any good for non-DX12 games, but it could be good for the future, especially if they can stack VRAM.
__________________

forrestcupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 10:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

Nvidia has quoted me twice 50% per watt, plus all the added FP16 performance will actually help in gaming. The addition of async compute queueing being natively supported and compute/graphics pipelines running in parallel will make that happen. Pascal has a lot riding on it. I wouldn't expect GP104 to push us into 4k, that'll be up to GP100.

DX12 does support multi-card use, it's up to developers to integrate it so we already know it won't happen.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 12:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

What I think would be cool would be if developers did use the multi-GPU functionality, and it could use our unused integrated graphics as a boost.
forrestcupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 12:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

Quote:
Originally Posted by forrestcupp View Post
What I think would be cool would be if developers did use the multi-GPU functionality, and it could use our unused integrated graphics as a boost.
Some of us don't have IGPs
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 02:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Some of us don't have IGPs
What CPU do you have? Are you running a Xeon e3 or something?
forrestcupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 03:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

It's right in my sig, 3960x.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 09:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
It's right in my sig, 3960x.
Dang, dude. You went all out.
forrestcupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 07:23 AM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

Nah. Won the chip at Quakecon, the board I got off Ebay for 50 bucks. Used the chip basically since the year it came out and I plan on using it until I actually need to upgrade.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 12:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Nah. Won the chip at Quakecon, the board I got off Ebay for 50 bucks. Used the chip basically since the year it came out and I plan on using it until I actually need to upgrade.
I was thinking more of your Titan X SLI setup.
forrestcupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 12:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Can I SLI from two different brands?

Quote:
Originally Posted by forrestcupp View Post
I was thinking more of your Titan X SLI setup.
Oh yea, I'm set with getting the latest each generation by selling off the cards when the new ones come out. Just patiently waiting for GP100 since TItan X SLI isn't really enough for 4k.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing between different brands of video card -Tenk- System Upgrades 5 04-01-2011 08:45 PM
Two brands of memory Runfox Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-12-2009 07:57 PM
SLI Different Brands??? BennyV04988 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-11-2007 08:19 AM
Two problems, two different PCs Redjambluejam Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-12-2005 06:00 PM
whats up with all the different brands? TSXmike Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-13-2005 05:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.