Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2011, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 29
Default Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

Vantage AMD FX Quad Core 3.6Ghz Desktop Gaming PC 1tb 8gb DDR3 ATI 6950 1gb.
__________________

Darragh is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 08:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

We need a link, or more information on the system.

I can say, maybe, but is slight.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

Yes, you can. The 6950 is on par with the GTX 560 Ti and I run BF3 on high just fine.

My AMD is a Phenom II 965 BE running at 3.4GHz and I am also running 8GB of RAM.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 29
Default Re: Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

Thanks .. u seem to know ur stuff with graphics cards so i hope im not being rude asking two questions here lol.. But do u think a 550ti card could pull medium with the same cpu on battlefield 3? if not ill go with the 6950.
Darragh is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 11:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

i would go with the 6950. the 550 ti would probably run medium @1680 x 1050 if that.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

^ Agreed.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-17-2011, 04:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 29
Default Re: Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

Thanks ur all an awesome help, a friend told me the cpu was crap though :/ i hope hes wrong.
Darragh is offline  
Old 12-17-2011, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

An FX Quad? He needs to do his homework. You are fine.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 04:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

I run BF3 on medium @ 1920x1080 just fine with a pentium D and an HD5670.
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 04:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: Can I run Battlefield 3 and other new games on medium-high with this computer?

I have a gtx550ti and an i5 2500k running stock, plays high settings at 1920 x 1200. Have to go medium though for 2500 x 1600 (not sure of the exact res).
__________________

steves85 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can this PC run good games?(Battlefield, Crysis 2, Aion, WoW) DeadOwnz System Upgrades 13 12-01-2011 09:07 PM
Can my computer run Battlefield 3? Sidewalk PC Gaming 3 09-28-2011 10:56 AM
Will this card run high end games well? wafflehammer New Systems | Building and Buying 15 03-26-2008 12:41 AM
Can I run BF2 full medium? lea0001 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-09-2008 07:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.