Can I hook a tower up to my laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2008, 06:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

I have a special addition HP Pavilion dv2660se laptop, and as some of you already know, I am interested in building a new gaming rig. Now, I want to be able to hook this rig up to my laptop as a monitor. Is this possible? I heard something about a kvm switch to make it easier.
__________________

Doer. is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

I also read up on whats called RDP (Remote desktop), anybody know anything about this?
__________________

Doer. is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

sorry to say but nope not possible. unless (i dont know anything about your computer) your laptop has a video IN which is not something that most laptops have. i was looking into the same thing but nope you could run it through a network connection but that takes forever to setup and maintain. also most people notice a crap load of lag when running games that way. believe me i wish but unless there is a video IN like vga dvi (make sure its an INPUT not output) or something then no.
Looby is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

It does have a VGA port, and if you don't mind me asking, where are you from?
Doer. is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

no it has to have a vga INPUT the vga on your laptop is a vga output so you can hook up an extra monitor to your laptop for dual screen

about 30mins north Atlanta, GA
Looby is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

oh ok, because I have a friend with Looby as their last name, was gonna say, small world (he lives like 13 hours from me)

and btw, in the manuel, the it states all the connections being input/output but doesn't clarify weather or not each one is input, output, or both. I'm trying to figure out if its input as well.
Doer. is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

wow another looby? thats weird i am the only looby that i know huh i have found its a unique last name

i highly doubt that the vga can be an input or an output but if it is it will be the only one i have EVER heard of
Looby is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 10:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

I called HP, they said its output.
Doer. is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 10:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

Simple answer: no.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 10:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Can I hook a tower up to my laptop?

oh well, guess i'll have to spend a few extra bucks to get a monitor. No biggie.
__________________

Doer. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spilled Soda on Laptop chickfilafan Laptops and Notebooks 5 11-16-2007 01:01 PM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.