Can I Build this PC for less Money? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2006, 12:18 AM   #41 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

I have received all the parts and put them all together. However, the power supply does not have a 4 Pin 12v adapter for the motherboard. So, I made one. Now when I plug that in nothing happens. The case fans barely jerk and that is all.

Without the 4 Pin 12v plugged in all the fans run and all of the diagnostic LEDs come on and remain on, which means system start up. I cannot open the CD drive unless I disconnect the IDE cable from it. With only the power cable connected it opens fine. I have tried another IDE cable with the same results. Any ideas?

Thanks!

-Nathan
__________________

rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:00 PM   #42 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rockeyman2
So, I made one.
...How did you make one?

And I know for a fact that that PSU has 24 conenctors. See the Newegg page for the PSU here. Now go down and look at the "main connector." See the 20+4Pins? You can confirm that from the pictures.

As for the drives, no idea. That goes in the Hardware Troubleshooting section.
__________________

Green Radience is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 04:30 PM   #43 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Alright. I have the connectors in. I feel smart, didn't know they were connected. However, I am still having the same problem. I called DFI and they said the processor was not supported and I need to try another, but I don't just have another processor lying around.

Any suggestions?
rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 05:04 PM   #44 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

The Opteron? They're not officially supported, and the most you would need is a BIOS flash to make it work. Downlaod the new BIOS from another computer and put it on a floppy. Take out all but the necessary components on the new PC, boot up, and update the BIOS. Thats all you should need to do.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 05:07 PM   #45 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

How do I do that? I see nothing on the screen. Nothing but 4 LEDS. Same problem as this guys:

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50590

And DFI phone support is no good. I tell him about this guys post and he says it is either the CPU or the MOBO.

He did tell me to try it outside the case....
rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 06:05 PM   #46 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Ok. I rebuilt system with bare minimum outside. Same results.
rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 06:30 PM   #47 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Alright we have boot! To fix it. All I did was take out the CPU and put it back in. Strange......Hours of work leading no where 3 pointless calls to support and all it took was 1 min reinstalling the processor. Weird..... but it works now!!

Thanks for the replies!! I will hopefully post an update with while using it tonight!
rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 11:10 AM   #48 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

I am currently posting with my new AWESOME computer system! Thanks to all of you who recommended parts.

There are only a few small problems:

The small sound ports do not work and the larger ones work but sound terrible, lots of static and a hum.

Sometimes when I start up the computer the USB keyboard/mouse do not function until I unplug and plug them in again.

Last night I was playing Oblivion to test out my new rig and it randomly crashed to the desktop.

Other than that is has run flawlessly.

I have not overclocked it yet, but plan to do so very soon.

Thank you for all the help and if you have and suggestions about the problems please let me know.

Thank you!

-Nathan
rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 11:18 AM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

It's not uncommon for Oblivion to crash every now and then. And I guess you got bad integraded sound, you may want to shoot for a PCI soundcard.

Have fun with your new computer!
Waphlez is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 03:50 PM   #50 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 151
Default

to the guy that told me that all i had to do is replace my ps. once and it would of fixed all my problems well that was the first thing i replaced and also the second thing i replaced but for the most part the company was the one doing all the replacing either at there company or over the phone service. so i felt i must defend myself just a little thanks
__________________

Izzjess is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.