Can an AMD AM2+ CPU fit an a AM2 mobo socket? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2010, 03:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688
Default Re: Can an AMD AM2+ CPU fit an a AM2 mobo socket?

Wow used to work on a Geforce 2 back in the old days :-p

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 05:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
PP Mguire's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,051
Default Re: Can an AMD AM2+ CPU fit an a AM2 mobo socket?

Originally Posted by Hookster264 View Post
Per XFX, they did not continue any support of the 590SLI boards for cpus past the Athlon 64x2 6000. No Phenom based cpu is compatible with the AM2 socket.

However, my brother has an AM2 board made by ASUS and they have updated BIOS that supports many of the AM2+ cpus. They have specific bios updates per cpu you choose.
These are actually custom bios's and the people who use them, use them at their own risk.

Originally Posted by iPROTechman View Post
I have a friend that runs WOW on a single core athlon, a gts 250 and 1gb of ram, no idea how he does it, but I don't think it's your system. Must be something else affecting it.
I was saying something similar in another thread about WoW how i was playing the vanilla on a 1400mhz T-Bird and 9800XT but yet people with faster rigs seem to lag behind now. Word has it that alot of added content or whatever is whats causing the serious slow down.

"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire

Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a used socket 478 mobo. -RockMan- Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 01-24-2010 09:57 PM
LOL socket 754 and 939 mobo!! pc_boy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 01-21-2006 02:59 PM
A Socket 478 Mobo with a PCI-Ex on it!! Cwood06 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-06-2005 08:59 PM
Socket 754 SLI mobo Trotter Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 11-07-2005 11:43 PM
4 Socket 939 PCI-e MoBo, which one is best? diabloII Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-20-2005 01:14 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.