can 478 socket fit 775 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2007, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default can 478 socket fit 775

Well i been havein a crazy argument with my friend he claims that his old p4 478 socket CPU can fit and work in the new 775 sockets what do you guys say can this actually be possible?I keep telling him its not compatible.
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 10:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: can 478 socket fit 775

NOOOO is the short answer.... 2 physically different sockets.... It is POSSIBLE that there MAY be some kind of adaptor out there to accomplish it, but with prices what they are, the 478 is nothing more than a paperweight at this point. ( I say this because early processors in the P2 ish days I believe had adaptors available to use a CPU in a different socket.... I doubt the availability of a 478 to 775 one though, as a quick google search found nothing).

This mobo is DUAL SOCKET.... LGA 775 on top, 478 on the bottom.... see the difference? Also, LGA 775 doesn't have PINS like the 478's, they use round contact surfaces on the CPU.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 10:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: can 478 socket fit 775

just in case he doesn't want to believe you if tis only one person. I'm the second person lol, who also says, NO.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 10:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: can 478 socket fit 775

oh, yeah.. NO.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 11:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: can 478 socket fit 775

Absolutely not, you're friend is crazy.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 11:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: can 478 socket fit 775

haha thats a funny one
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 11:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: can 478 socket fit 775

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
haha thats a funny one
so is jamming ddr memory into a ddr2 memory slot
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 11:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: can 478 socket fit 775

im pretty sure it will not fit...
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 11:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: can 478 socket fit 775

or cuttin off extra contacts on a PCI-e gfx card to make it in a PCI slot
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: can 478 socket fit 775

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEnd187 View Post
or cuttin off extra contacts on a PCI-e gfx card to make it in a PCI slot
o dear god....:snob:
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: e6320 dual core socket 775 4mb L2 Cache FghtinIrshNvrDi Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 12-09-2007 12:53 PM
478 Bracket dark strike1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-06-2007 10:47 PM
What to do with Socket 478 mPGA? akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 15 11-17-2007 10:40 PM
Socket Question Aragorn2316 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-28-2007 04:17 AM
WTB: Socket 478 Motherboard Brinson Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 09-21-2007 09:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.