Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2010, 07:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

You can plug both in, it won't hurt anything. It may even help if your power supply is designed as a single rail or even a big double rail unit. Power supplies with multiple rails with have both the 8-pin and 2x4-pin on the same rail, with a limited amount of power available for each rail. So while they both may be plugged in they still can't supply more power than just one connector. But if you have 1 or 2 big rails then there's usually more than enough power on each rail for both connectors.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 08:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

Sweet, I'll go ahead and plug them both in!
__________________

earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 09:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

Slay, its a silverstone st1500
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan Stickers, any good substitute? septoid2 Overclocking and Modding 10 04-03-2006 11:14 PM
Halo substitute?? pc_boy Microsoft XBox 5 02-21-2006 10:53 PM
can we not substitute index.html with main.html? rookie1010 Internet Software and Browsers 4 12-27-2004 07:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.