Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2010, 08:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

The motherboard on the PC I'm building (1st time!) supports 2 8-pin connectors for powering the CPU. My power supply only came with one 8-pin connector, but it also has a connector that looks exactly the same, except it terminates into two 4-pins, so I'm guessing they are basically the same cable. Can I use that cable as a second 8-pin connector? Or do I need to buy a second cable?
__________________

earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

Becareful...... You only need 1 pin, and itsd the 4x2 one. The other 8 pin is a pci-e connecter DO NOT USE THAT FOR THE CPU

What board do you have anyway?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 10:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

No, it's not the PCI connector, I know what those ones are (kind of sort of; they have big labels on them so they're hard to miss lol)... this actually says, on both the power supply, the cable, and the motherboard, "CPU 8 pin". And there was a sticker on the motherboard (otherwise I wouldn't have noticed) which said "supports extra CPU 8 pin".

It's the Gigabit GA-X58A-UD9 R, and I'll be running an i7 980X, so it needs all the juice it can get The motherboard manual says that extreme editions need to run with the 8 pin for stability purposes.

EDIT--D'oh! I went in and looked more closely at the manual, and it does say to use a 2x4 for the cpu... so what was the 8 pin CPU cable that was connected to my power supply, and why is there an extra 8 pin connector on my motherboard?
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 11:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

Because folks usually runnning 1500W psus are running extreme systems... ie multi cpu servers. 2 cpus need 2 12V lines.

Seriously though, unless youre tri-sli you could have saved yourself abunch of cash and went with 1000Ws and still been safe.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

That part makes total sense, so now I'm just wondering why there are two inputs on the motherboard.

Right now I'll only be running two 5970s, but I figured I should future-proof and just spend a little extra on the 1500W. You never know what you'll add down the road.
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 04:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

My E760 Classified mobo also has (2) 8-pin mobo power connectors. You only have to use (1) of the connectors, the 2nd connector is there for the extreme overclocker who may need the stability provided by the extra back-up power.

If you want to use both 8-pin mobo connectors you can use this adapter with (2) spare 4-pin molex connectors.
Logisys 12V Molex to 8pin P8 Adapter fro Motherboards Products Model: AD202 [AD202] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

So what's the difference, electrically speaking, between the output jacks of a 2x4 and an 8? To me, it looks like all of the wires would end up routed to the same place. Am I missing something?
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 06:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

Well, some mobos only have a 4 pin, and not the 8 pin. So to accomidate they have a 2x4.

Theres nothing really different between the 2x4 or 1x8.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

So I can go ahead and use one 2x4 and one 1x8 (both came with the power supply, so I wouldn't have to buy anything new) to fill up the two slots? I know it's probably overkill, but I've never known of a situation where more electrical headroom was a bad thing lol.
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 07:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can an 12V 2x4-pin substitute for a 12V 8-pin?

Have you read the thread about bthe usb cable???

J/K if you want both, go ahead... just one extra cable to hide.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan Stickers, any good substitute? septoid2 Overclocking and Modding 10 04-03-2006 11:14 PM
Halo substitute?? pc_boy Microsoft XBox 5 02-21-2006 10:53 PM
can we not substitute index.html with main.html? rookie1010 Internet Software and Browsers 4 12-27-2004 07:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.