CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2008, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

Good Day Folks,

I am in the process of researching what would be a great system to replace my first build ever. My current desktop I built way back in college and now that I am getting more into CAD work with AutoCAD, Photoshop Work, and 3D work with Revit I need to upgrade. (my system is still using IDE )

So I was looking at the i7 core that just came out and the tech specs look great and the bench marks are outstanding vs a previous quad core system (yes i7 is quad too). My question is: Is this too much power for day to day work? I would like to also have a system that could run some heavy games once in a blue moon.

If anyone could help out or give me any suggestions that would be great. I am looking in the $1,000-1,200 range at most right now.

Bill
__________________

GreenMan415 is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 01:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lakeville, MN
Posts: 80
Default Re: CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

will you be needing a new monitor, speakers, operating system, etc. with it?
__________________

Balishang is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

I see it as more of a benchmarking/showing off/gaming processor.
MySoox is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Balishang View Post
will you be needing a new monitor, speakers, operating system, etc. with it?
No I have a copy of XP 64 I would like to run and everything else will stay the same.

Bill
GreenMan415 is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

if you have the budget for the i7 and its chipset

go for it.

nothing else is equal to it atm. (as far as i know)

i7 is much more than just a show-off chip...its the next generation and will phase out lga775 platforms over the next few years.

and if you do go i7, and want to upgrade your chip in a year or so, you should allready be setup for it with the rest of your system.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 05:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 33
Default Re: CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

Hey Bill,

I use Photoshop as well and plan on buying the i7 SOON. It seems like a lot of people here (right now) are suggesting the x58 motherboard ($300), DDR3 SDRAM memory (~$250) and a GTX 260 graphics card ($250) to go along with it. I'm not sure if your budget is high enough if you need to buy the case, psu, dvd, etc.
NickPapageorgio is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 07:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickPapageorgio View Post
Hey Bill,

I use Photoshop as well and plan on buying the i7 SOON. It seems like a lot of people here (right now) are suggesting the x58 motherboard ($300), DDR3 SDRAM memory (~$250) and a GTX 260 graphics card ($250) to go along with it. I'm not sure if your budget is high enough if you need to buy the case, psu, dvd, etc.
Well I am lucky in a couple of my things are coming from my old system:

Case
DVD
Speakers
Monitor
Keyboard
Mouse
GreenMan415 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 07:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

Quote:
Originally Posted by MySoox View Post
I see it as more of a benchmarking/showing off/gaming processor.
What the greatest improvements are encoding, media editing and cad. Gaming is only improved by the cpu being more efficient at handling multiple gpu solutions and gives some extra processing headroom.

Whats your budget?
You should also be able to reuse the OS even if its OEM.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

Whats the ratio of the CAD, PS and 3d work compared to gaming?
If you're main use is for OpenGL apps then you should get a workstation card - firegl or quadro.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 08:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 33
Default Re: CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7

Photoshop benefits from CPU power and more memory. I think his CAD and 3D work will benefit from the better graphics card.
__________________

NickPapageorgio is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New guts/old case/will this work? SirLucian System Upgrades 9 12-24-2008 12:49 PM
The New, Hopefully Bug Free Folding@Home Thread! macdude425 Folding @ Home 928 12-07-2008 07:18 PM
Will a EVGA 8600GTS [GDDR3] work in an ECS G31T-M with a Q9550? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-06-2008 06:53 PM
mic wont work WDD11791 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-25-2007 07:04 PM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.