cables? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2006, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default cables?

this is a bit of dumb question but a lot of ppl hide there wires beneath the mobo. could this by any chance cause any problems? i dont c how it could but just makin sure b4 i do this. Thanks
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 07:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

well if your smart and put the risers underneath the mobo I dont see how this could affect the wires....also a good place to hide wires in unused optical drive space
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 08:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

by risers do u mean the screws that holds the mobo off the case? i dont see how u cant use these. and the wires will still touch the bottom of the mobo anyway. so does this not matter?
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

oh sorry its just that I know all my stupid clients that call and say there mobo dosent fit and I ask them if they used the risers and there like risers??...

but no I dont see how it could affect the mobo...
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 08:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 145
Default

lol im having a hard time organizing wires. The psu wire i thought was a snake and made me jump outta my chair.
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA3800BVBOX
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3808110AS 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Platinum System Memory Model OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K
eVGA 256-P2-N563-AX Geforce 7900GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Thermaltake Big Typhoon CL-P0114 120mm Cooling Fan with Heatsink
xXx-Tricky-xXx is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

yeah i hear ya i couldn't organize wires if my life depended on it. what i do though is untangle all of them, then tie some of them together with plastic ties, and then shove them all in an empty optical bay or HD bay. Isn't the nicest looking but it gets the job done.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 10:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

i've probably spent 2 or 3 hours trying to hide cables on mine... still looks pretty rough.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

lol ok then ill just mess about with em and see what i get to.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

unless you want to sleeve your wires the moste efficient way to tidy them is to look at the way to group them in the tightest groups possible so no wires go off in odd directions. i had trouble with mine with 3 hdd's, 2 optical drives, fans and the power connectors on the motherboard spreading everything out and making life difficult.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Yeah i have same problems. cos i got front panel audio which is actually at the top of the case which has to connect to the otherside of the mobo. and the fan connectors travel across it too.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.