Cable Modding - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Cable Modding

The power cables that came with my Silverstone power supply are, with a couple of exceptions, WAY too long, and are crowding the **** out of my case (which is a large case to begin with). Also, many of them have extraneous connectors (if my video card recommends to have each PCI-E power input be completely dedicated, I don't need a 6 pin and an 8 pin connector on each cable).

How easy is it to cut off excessive lengths of cable and reterminate them? I have almost zero experience with a soldering iron, but I believe there are some substances out there that are like soldering gel which make it easier.

earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Sean W.'s Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Cable Modding

don't do it. end discussion, topic closed.

it will void your power supply warranty, you might short something you, if you do it wrong you could fry your hardware... all bad news. plain down right dont do it.

Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,723
Default Re: Cable Modding

it would be relatively simple, even if you have no experience soldering, but i'm not gonna suggest it primarily because of voiding your warranty, like Sean mentioned.

if the option is available, return your psu and get a modular one.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Cable Modding

It is a modular one. It's just that the cables that came with it are too **** big, and I'm not seeing a whole lot of options online for the cables that hog the most room (the PCI-E 6 pin and 8 pin cables).

I guess I'll just deal with it.
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 05:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
Abstract Hero's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Cable Modding

Deal with it or buy new mods.
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Where you keep your poptarts
Posts: 136
Default Re: Cable Modding

Arnt there zip ties you can buy? Just use those to get the cables closer together and tuck them away. or bend them over back to the PSU and tape the access down...
KoF Ripsaw is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Cable Modding

Yes, I have zip ties, it's just that the cables are like 5" thick lol. None of this is stuff that can't be overcome, but it will definitely impede airflow.

Does anyone know of a place that makes custom cables? Like where I could say "I need a 14 inch 8 pin PCI-E cable, an SATA cable with two connectors that is 8 inches long, etc."?
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 07:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Where you keep your poptarts
Posts: 136
Default Re: Cable Modding

Have you searched Newegg? Also I would first monitor temperature to see if it is that big of a problem.
KoF Ripsaw is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 08:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Cable Modding

Yeah, I looked at Newegg. They've pretty much got what I already have.

Even if the temps stay down, I still want an uncluttered case with custom cables if I can find them at a reasonable price... I've found that 90% of the build time so far has been rerouting cables so that they can squeeze in.
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 08:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,062
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Cable Modding

Really any electronics guy could do it for you. It's pretty easy to shorten a wire, you just need the right equipment.
1. Cut the wire.
2. put a bit of heatshrink tubing over the wire
3. splice the wires back together
4. use a heat gun to melt the tubing onto the wire

That's the steps for doing this, but if you don't have the know-how or tools or experience, then like I said any electronics guy should be able to help you out. Maybe check out your local college? Mine had a room with all the stuff you'd need to do this. They might let you borrow it

"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coaxil Cables for Cable Internet / Cable TV freak67 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 11-16-2006 05:11 PM
Difference between Network Cable and Patch Cable? qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 10-24-2006 08:37 PM
Help: Using a crossover cable as a regular patch cable. funkture Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 10-13-2006 12:24 AM
can i use a normal crossover cable for a system link cable? ccrraazzyy Microsoft XBox 11 03-03-2005 02:42 PM
Cable Modding brianm8000 Overclocking and Modding 6 12-11-2004 03:39 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.