C2D E6300 64bit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2007, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default C2D E6300 64bit?

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, Socket 775, 1.86 GHz

Is this processor 64bit?
Would vista ultimate work well with it?
__________________

SpannerMagnet is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

BTW I mean Windows Vista x64
__________________

SpannerMagnet is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 11:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Don't get the 64bit edition, because it lacks compatibility, especially with drivers.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

Good call, thanks
SpannerMagnet is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Well, I run 64 bit, An yes there is a lack of driver's, But if you do your homework before you buy, An see if the brand's of the hardware you want in your pc has 64 Bit driver's out, Why not? All mine did. All but for my sound card, Since they only had Beta driver's out for it right now but give it time. 64 bit will be just as common as any other.
augest is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=527300

Just so I'm correct, this OEM dvd comes with a brand new serial key right?
SpannerMagnet is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 01:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

If you want 64bit processing wait for a while and get windows xp 64bit. Much much better than vista 64bit right now, only because they have alot more support.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 01:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

All OEM's should come with their own Key.
augest is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 02:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Yeah, they do but no documentation.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 06:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

An OEM, is just the product itself. No retail box or manual. For Windows, it's only the CD and key number.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.