buying some stuff. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2009, 01:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default buying some stuff.

Is buying used ram usually ok, or is that some sort of nono?


Also i have a q6600 on a biostar T45, what would be the biggest upgrade for a cpu i could get that would give me a noticeable difference in speed?

thanks
__________________

Squirtis is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: buying some stuff.

Really no point to buying used RAM, it's so cheap nowadays.

For a new processor, you could go with a Q9400...but if you have an old Q6600 that overclocks well, I would hold onto it personally.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default Re: buying some stuff.

well the ram is half the price used from someone on the forum. 8 gigs of 1066 G Skill for 70 bux aint bad.

My q6600 has a high VID like 1.32 and didn't have too much luck pushing it past 2.8-3.0GHz
Squirtis is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: buying some stuff.

do you have 32 or 64 windows? if you have 32 bit there is no point in gettin more ram. otherwise do it but 8 gigs is a fair bit 4 is enough for a q6600
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
custom stuff taintedplay Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 10 01-10-2009 06:44 PM
Stuff Freezes Solid donaldj HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 12-15-2008 10:17 AM
weird stuff at bootup Fat.Clown Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 11-25-2008 02:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.