Buying RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2005, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default Buying RAM

im Looking to overclock my new opteron 144 to about 2.6ghz and am wondering the what the best RAM would be for the job.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

OCZ PC4200

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227202
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 05:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

oh yeah sry i need DDR400 PC3200
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 09:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

That board supports all DDR. Not just DDR400 PC3200.

You do know that DDR400 will get up to DDR500 if you overclock?
turtile is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the PC4200 will be downclocked to PC3200 but once you OC it wont be relaly OCing until you reach PC4200 speeds then after that you will be OCing the ram, so with that you are FOR SURING PC4200 speeeds for your ram, you just need your cpu to do it
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

ok i get it im new to computers and im only 14. but im kind of on a strict budget so do you think this will work?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141228
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yes it would work.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

Well as far as i know this is the fastest OC ram.
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...ationKey=0&v=2
So if you can afford this then you will never limit your OC.
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Get this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/SAMSUNG-1GB-PC32...QQcmdZViewItem

Somebody on another forum got it at over 250FSB
turtile is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 05:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Try this (link not working)

http://search.ebay.com/samsung-ddr-4...Z1QQsofocusZbs
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.