Buying MOBO for Athalon 64 X2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2005, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to strikermed
Default Buying MOBO for Athalon 64 X2

I have been looking at 2 sites lately to check pricing on a motherboard... the price isnt in question, its the compatiblity with the processor im checking for... the MOBO is ASUS A8V Socket 939 VIA K8T800 Pro ATX AMD Motherboard it can be found at

newegg at: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131541

Zipzoomfly at: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=247001

Now im getting mixed signals on... should i buy this... i checked the manufacturer website, and it sais it is compatible, im just trying to make sure it is compatible... and if it is not can anyone suggest an ASUS board that i can look at... im trying to keep the price range around $80.00... but if you have suggestions... Il be glad to check them out.
__________________

strikermed is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

no pci-e so its really not a good idea to those 2 asus


thse are great
1 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491 is u want a cheap 1 and if u can spend more this is the best there is http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

btw asus arn't very good for amd (unless u wanna get the A8N32-SLI)

their great for intell but they are crap for amd most of the time
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

You should look into a decent DFI
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to strikermed
Default reply to previous

see thing is i need an AGP slot, all im doing is upgrading my mobo and processor... I was wondering if it was compatible... and from what i have been reading i would prob need to flash my bios... which im assuming i can do before installing windows... here are my specs that i hope to have: I like to edit and play high end games... and my vid card will last me a while for now... im looking to upgrade in the next month...

Mobo 939 1 4x/8x AGP (want)
AMD 64 x2 4200 (want)
sound card
firewire card
wireless G card
1 prim 80 gig HD
1 sec 160 gig HD
500 Wat psu
128 mb AGP radeon all in wonder 9600 XT
strikermed is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 12:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to strikermed
Default update bios

Well I answered my original question about the compatibility... my question is now... how to update a bios... I have not had to do it in the past on my previous mobo... and from what I have read it is a good idea with the motherboard... Now how would i do the update... what would be the best way to go about it

Should I make a Dos Bootable disk

Udate using AFUDOS which is included on software that comes with the mobo

or should i update after i install windows and run a flash update?

From what i hear the Dos Boot disk is the best solution since it the bios will be updated before the the O/S is installed....


And if you have a chance... Can you use both SATA and IDE Hardrives? and what would be the posisitive and negative of using both at the same time?
strikermed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.