Buying a LCD Help me Pick! B4 TONITE! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2005, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Buying a LCD Help me Pick! B4 TONITE!

The screen size of choice is going to be 19" and I would like something around 12m's I have a budget of 275. So I was looking on a newegg they have some widescreens and some Acer's I don't know Jack bout brands or anything like that. all I know is that I have 275$ and need to figure out something before the end of today so I can order it. Thanks guys.
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Cheap? Buy Acer AL1916B 19".

It's black, it's 12ms, and it's not that bad for a price that I see of $330 canadian dollars at wholesalers.

Try to find that model in your local area.

Also, make sure to read Acer's Pixel Policy

"Acer has a formula and breaks up the screen into sections and defines which area's carry more weight in terms of importance -- if there's more than one dead pixel in the center Acer will replace a laptop, but if the pixels are elsewhere then you can suffer from up to 4 dead pixels per million on the screen."
__________________

905it is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i heard the acer monior is really nice.


you shuold get that or a samsung one
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824009067

Think I'm getting that? Sound good?
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 04:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AuThoRitY
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824009067

Think I'm getting that? Sound good?
Nice monitor, nice price!
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

Exactly, I agree but you know what. I'm starting to hear about these "DEAD PIXEL" things. I know what it is. Are LCDS very likely to have them? Becuase if I spend some 250$ hell I don't want it to come back and bite me in the ***. So I dunno what to do. I want a 19" LCD to work perfect when I get it. Think the one I have above is ok for that?
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 06:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I showed him that monitor.

Dead pixels are fairly common on ALL LCDs no matter what the brand, but ACER generally has fewer. My Acer AL1714 17" is 0 dead pixels (I tested).
Flanker is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 06:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

cant you rub out d.p's?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 08:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

Ordered the 239.99 ACER from newegg. 3 more days baby!! w000h0000
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 09:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Static_11
cant you rub out d.p's?
sometimes but it is not always
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.