Buying a laptop, have a few questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default Buying a laptop, have a few questions

Hello,
for starters, I am going to be a senior in high school, and I am in need of a new computer. Because I will be going to college a year from now, I am thinking that a laptop would be the best bet, as I most likely won't have enough $$ to buy a new computer both this year and next. I currently have about $1,500, so I am looking at a mid-low end alienware. My primary use for it would be playing WoW, and general school functions. Now the questions begin:

is alienware a good company? I've heard they have kinda gone downhill since dell bought them.

Second, is IBUYPOWER a good site to buy from? This is a large investment I would be making, and so I want it to work as it is supposed to.

Third, are there any major improvements coming for laptops in the near future? I have heard rumors of DirectX10 for laptops, but I haven't heard when it will be coming out.

Fourth, if I buy a laptop now (I would like it for school), would I be able to upgrade it to Windows Vista and DX10? (i have no idea when either of those come out).

Thanks for your help,
kmac07
__________________

kmac07 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Vista is just an operating system, you can put it on your laptop and it will work fine.

If you get it now, your video card won't (and never will, theres a guy here who thinks a firmware update will do it, but he's grossly mistaken) support DirectX 10. If you wait for a year then it will.

I don't like Alienware, nor do I like Dell. I would never give money to a place called "ibuypower.com"
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Vista is just an operating system, you can put it on your laptop and it will work fine.

If you get it now, your video card won't (and never will, theres a guy here who thinks a firmware update will do it, but he's grossly mistaken) support DirectX 10. If you wait for a year then it will.

I don't like Alienware, nor do I like Dell. I would never give money to a place called "ibuypower.com"
ibuypower is a great company, cyberpowerinc is too.
__________________
Amd x2 5000+
9500gt PNY
2 gigs adata
Antec Earthwatts 480
zeppelinfan2009 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 09:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

dont ever go with Monarch.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 10:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

www.ibuypower.com
www.cyberpowerinc.com

both of them make pretty good laptops.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 10:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 120
Default

Dell laptops are the cheapest and the most you can get for your bucks.
Alienware is expensive.
ablaye is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

WoW isn't that hardware intensive, so you would be pretty set on anything as long as it doesn't have Intel Integrated graphics.

I wouldn't suggest using a laptop for high end fps gaming. If you want to play Crysis, just build yourself a DX10 desktop next year when its released.

Stay away from Dell/Alienware. I personally suggest a mid to high end HP, because they use AMD processors and Nvidia graphics. Or you could do what the guys above suggested and go custom.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya HP or gateway,they are also AMD now. and I personally like the sharp look of there mobile cases
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

alienware is too expensive and their customer service is horrible
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 306
Default

id say gateway or ibm or toshiba
__________________

__________________







Office 2007 for Sale
StylinGolfShoes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.