buying a laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2006, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Lightbulb need help to choose a laptop

dont really know much about laptops.
I am interested in buying a laptop to playgames (world of warcraft) i had two laptops in mind but i dont know what to do my spending limit is under 600 first one is

Compaq Presario 2100 2.4 GhZ 512 ram 40 Gig Hard Drive - $250 its a used one of course

second one is

Compaq Presario V2720WM 14.1" Wide Laptop, 1.8 GHz Mobile AMD Sempron Processor 3100+ $578 this is from walyworld

i really dont know what to do if you huys could help ty

p.s i do have a desktop computer to play the game but i want something portable as well
__________________

Hiram is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

those will not play games, unless you really like starcraft or diablo 2.

Gaming laptops include:
Some asus models
Alienware
Falcon-NW
Dell XPS
Acer has some laptops that might work too....

or if you have 20 grand to spend:
voodoo

Basically find a laptop with a video card... something as good or better to a x1300 or 7400
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

after reading your post again...GMA 950 can handle wow...

Go look at HP or gateway. They make cheap lappies.
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Inspirin e 1505 is a cheap one with dedicated graphic which can play most games...wow at max no prob.
Conroe is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Look at Compaq laptops, same as HP but their lower end models are chaper. All you need to play WoW is the integrated radeon/nvidia you can find a decent one in your price range from www.compaq.com
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 09:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Default

the compaq i found has from walyworld has a Video Graphics and Video Memory: ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M IGP with 128MB DDR (shared)
Ultra-quick processor

Mobile AMD Sempron Processor 3100+; processor speed: 1.8 GHz

Excellent memory

Memory: 512MB 333MHz DDR System Memory (2 Dimm)

Spacious hard drive

60GB (4200RPM
Hiram is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

It'll run your games, just not too well. I would very highly recommend getting a Turion over the sempron. WoW also really needs 1gb of ram to run lag free one most systems and connections.
Like I said, check www.compaq.com and you hould be able to configure one like that for not much more $
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 05:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Default

ty for your help ill give that a try
__________________

Hiram is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.