Buying High End PC - Need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jumzor

Solid State Member
Hey guys I'm planning to build this PC sometime in June.

CPU: Core i7 920
Motherboard: Asus P6T
GPU: GTX295 MSI
PSU: Antec True Power Quatrro 850W
RAM: G Skill 6GB Kit (3x2gb) PI
HDD: Western Digital 1TB Black ed. x 2 (RAID 0)
Case: Antec 900 Gaming Case

I'm not a total newb but im not 100% on the different verisons of cirtain things:
The GTX295 (MSI,Palit,etc)
The MB Asus Pt6 (ive seen a few versions)

Also will there be any price drops in the near future on any of this stuff?

Thanks for all reply's. Criticism welcome :)

P.S If you dont like my build please suggest your own parts ;)

Two of my favorite gpu brands are xfx and evga.

What is the purpose of a 2tb raid0 array?

The asus board you choose is nice. I would also look at the biostars and evga's as well.

If you overclock you would also want to get an aftermarket cooler.

Hey Thanks for the quick reply!

Whats the difference between GPU brands anyway?

and wont the 2gb Raid 0 make the computer run faster?

A raid0 array will add some speed to your computer but with an added risk of drive failure. If one drive fails all data is lost. If you back up regularly or do not have important data on your computer than raid0 is great.

To be honest a 32mb cache 640gb drive will be plenty fast for an operating system. If you want a real fast OS drive you could get a ssd but at this point they are still too expensive for the performance gain.

The 2 most popular psu companies of the forums are corsair and pc power and cooling.

I have had antec,'s in the past and been very happy with them.

I would look for the best deal on either of these 3 brands in the 750 to 850 range. 750 would be fine unless you planned to run dual gpus at a latter point in time.

Awesome, so far the only thing ill change is 2x HDD's to 1. Thanks for all the help Hefemeister :) +1 Rep.