Built a new rig, but its not working: help much appreciated! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2011, 10:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default Built a new rig, but its not working: help much appreciated!

Hey everybody first time here just having some major issues with this new PC i've built and would REALLY appreciate any help or comments as I've had a lot of grief from this rig

Heres the hardware:
-CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 840 "95W Edition" 3.20GHz
-Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2 (Socket AM3) DDR3 Motherboard
-RAM: 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz Dual Channel
-Graphics card: Gigabyte GeForce GT 430 OC "Dual Fan" 1024MB GDDR3
- 500GB HDD
- 650W PSU

Okay so heres the problem:
I had originally installed Windows XP and other programs and games onto the hard drive before on another PC before putting the hard drive into the new PC. Whenever I turned the PC on it bluescreened after trying to load windows. I assumed it was because the drivers for the newer motherboard haven't been installed so I tried safe mode, but then the CD Rom wasn't being detected what-so-ever. Eventually I ran out of time and had to activate windows, but i couldn't because it has to be done out of safe mode, and everytime I was out of safe mode it blue screened.

SO.. I tried putting the harddrive back into another PC and deleting the partition and all files to start fresh. Put it back into the new PC, boot from disk... doesn't detect windows XP disk. This is where I'm stuck and have been stuck for a while

If you've got this far I appreciate you reading this thread and would be greatly thankful for any help or anyone that can help me solve these issues

Martin
__________________

Martin_SA is offline  
Old 06-15-2011, 01:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 84
Default Re: Built a new rig, but its not working: help much appreciated!

I didnt think you could take install windows on one computer, then take the hard drive and just throw it in a new computer. That might be your problem, you might need to do a clean install of windows in the system you want to use.
__________________

thunderdome is offline  
Old 06-15-2011, 05:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Built a new rig, but its not working: help much appreciated!

Does the BIOS detect the CD Drive at all?
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 09:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Built a new rig, but its not working: help much appreciated!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Fox View Post
Does the BIOS detect the CD Drive at all?
Sorry for the late reply. The BIOS does detect it, I've tried 2 different Windows XP disks and each time it says "DISK BOOT FAILURE, PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISK" or something :/

Could it be that its a DVD RW and the disks are just CD's?
Martin_SA is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 09:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Built a new rig, but its not working: help much appreciated!

It doesn't matter what type of drive it is.

Does your other computer recognize the disk?
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 09:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Built a new rig, but its not working: help much appreciated!

Nope not at all and I've got 2.
Martin_SA is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 10:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Built a new rig, but its not working: help much appreciated!

I'm not too good at stuff like this..the only other thing I can think of is make sure that it's booting the cd drive first
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 10:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Built a new rig, but its not working: help much appreciated!

Yeah I've gone into the BIOS and stuff and told it to boot from disk first :/
__________________

Martin_SA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Built a computer, not working. HELP kronos2000 System Upgrades 1 02-21-2011 12:24 PM
HP built in mouse not working PHF99 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-18-2009 01:40 PM
Built System Not Working At All silveredition Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 08-01-2008 08:02 PM
Built in Gigabit Ethernet isn't working. GameGURU Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 10-17-2005 11:32 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.