Building two office machines. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2012, 11:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Building two office machines.

Hi Everyone,

I'm building a couple of machines for out offices at www,supermodelhair.com to basically use 2 monitors. one side will be used to process orders and use the back end of the website. The other screen will be used to use social media such as Facebook and Twitter.

There will be a few times when we would need to use photoshop (CS3) etc but rarely.

Heres the spec I intend to build:
Intel Core i3 3220
Intel H61 Chipset Motherboard
4GB DDR3 1333Mhz
ASUS Nvidia GTX 630 4GB Graphics Card
1TB 7200 64MB cache
Windows 7 Professional

Do you think there is anything I can cut back on in order to reduce the budget?

Many Thanks in advanced,

Scott
__________________

scottrosam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bregadon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arizona,USA
Posts: 122
Default Re: Building two office machines.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottrosam View Post
Hi Everyone,

I'm building a couple of machines for out offices at www,supermodelhair.com to basically use 2 monitors. one side will be used to process orders and use the back end of the website. The other screen will be used to use social media such as Facebook and Twitter.

There will be a few times when we would need to use photoshop (CS3) etc but rarely.

Heres the spec I intend to build:
Intel Core i3 3220
Intel H61 Chipset Motherboard
4GB DDR3 1333Mhz
ASUS Nvidia GTX 630 4GB Graphics Card
1TB 7200 64MB cache
Windows 7 Professional

Do you think there is anything I can cut back on in order to reduce the budget?

Many Thanks in advanced,

Scott
I'm not sure how much space you guys will need but 1TB seems like quite a lot for just orders and using a website.
__________________

Bregadon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,304
Default Re: Building two office machines.

I agree on the space thing, but the rest seems ok for what you want to do. I would go as far as saying simply stick with a 60GB SSD for faster productivity and less heat.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: Building two office machines.

Thanks for the replies, Ill opt for a smaller drive.

In hindsight, 1TB is too much lol.

Thanks guys
scottrosam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.