Building System - Memory Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2005, 03:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Exclamation Building System - Memory Question

Ok - I am almost through building my computer. Everything appears to be working. However when I open up control panel and go to system it says that I have a AMD 4000+ which is correct. But it says that I have 2.75GB of RAM. I have installed 4 1GB chips.

This is my mother board:
MB DFI|NF4 LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR RT - Retail (Qty=1,Price=$198.00)

This is my memory:
OCZ DUAL 2G(1Gx2) DDR 400 RT - Retail (Qty=2,Price=$539.90)

Is something wrong? Also when the computer is first turned on a screen briefly pops up which mentions the memory and sayd DDR 333 ---- shouldn't it say 400?

Thanks!
__________________

jowens is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 09:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

In the manual it states that if you are running 4 sticks of double sided RAM the max speed is 333MHZ.

See the manual here , go to page #21....

By the way, what do you need 4 GIG if RAM for??
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

oops
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hercules_upw
In the manual it states that if you are running 4 sticks of double sided RAM the max speed is 333MHZ.

See the manual here , go to page #21....

By the way, what do you need 4 GIG if RAM for??
That is untrue with current hardware. When the manual was written (before the interduction of venice core) you could only run 4x sticks at 333.

But now, you can manually change the memory divider to 1:1
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

I was just "going by the book.

and sorry for the "oops" post. something is going on with my browser...
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 10:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Default

I changed the speed in my bios to 400 and I got the memory working. I called the motherboard tech number. He had me flash the bios and said that 64 bit operating systems will show the 4 gigs but windows xp won't. With flashing the bios my computer now shows 3.25MB instead of 2.75MB.
__________________
AMD 64 4000+ San Diego
EVGA 7800 GTX
4 GB Memory
jowens is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 11:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Yeah windows gets a little ****y when you have more then 2 Gigs I believe. But honestly.... I wouldn't worry... 3.25GB of ram is insane.

Also, whats your AGP Apeture in the BIOS? take 4096-X (X being what it is), and does it come out to 3328 by chance? Kist a thought.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.