Building a Server - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2013, 01:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Building a Server

At the moment I have a small 13" laptop.
I was unsure how I would boot up this server and get it started without a monitor?

Of course all ideas are welcome
__________________

JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 01:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Building a Server

Well, you could always get just a smaller monitor instead of purchasing an expensive one
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Building a Server

If I get a small screen (15") for the server, does that mean when my clients/users login via team viewer the will only be able to view at the resolution my 15" puts out? Instead of their 24"+ screens?
JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 01:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Building a Server

No. When they log in it will output at their resolution.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 01:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Building a Server

Is that a setting? Because at the moment when I use team viewer on a small laptop, they can't get it bigger on their screen
JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 02:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Building a Server

That's because Team Viewer is a remote desktop simulator. If you are doing this proper you should make a proper domain login so the VMs on your server act as a cloud machine rather than remote desktoping in.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 02:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Building a Server

I definitely want to do this properly. But you do realize you just opened up another full bunch of questions regarding how to do this? :-)

OK I will order the machine and then look at how to make a "domain login".

Thank you!
JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Building a Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesBond View Post
I definitely want to do this properly. But you do realize you just opened up another full bunch of questions regarding how to do this? :-)

OK I will order the machine and then look at how to make a "domain login".

Thank you!
You'll have to make a thread so people more in the know about that kind of stuff can help you out. I know of it, know it's possible, and have done it before but haven't completely set it up so couldn't tell you step by step how to do it.

I do know that you can have a small monitor on the server rig and RDT with a bigger res. I do it here. Could just be the program at fault or they need to change their res settings while in the VM. Most of the time my servers don't even have a monitor or even a GPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 12:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Building a Server

OK Thanks.
Do you recommend using Windows Server 2012 on the main HDD as the master?
JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Building a Server

Whatever is the easiest for you to understand. Windows Server, or standard Windows.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.