Building from scratch.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 02-23-2009, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Building from scratch..

Okay, well, where to start off...

This is my first time building a computer, I've installed small things such as GPU's in old computers, but nothing of this magnitude. I've been told with instructions it is relatively easy and I don't need to worry too much about breaking anything.

I'm building this for these simple reasons:
  • Its cheap
  • I need a gaming PC, not a store-bought pos.

I've done a nice amount of research, spent hours reading reviews on pieces, ect.. and this is what I've come up with.

If there are any issues (not enough wattage, could overheat, ect.) please notify me, as I don't want to waste any money!

I've been informed that I would most likely need to purchase thermal paste and apply it on my processor, would this be correct?

All suggestions are appreciated and will be looked into, and I thank anyone taking the time to help.

Old 02-23-2009, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo

Default Re: Building from scratch..

You could use a cpu cooler for that Kuma, the AMD black editions come with crappy fan and heatsink.
Newegg.com - Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm "Core Contact Freezer" CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
And it comes with TX-2 thermal paste.

Secondly, don't use a power supply that comes with a case. They are low quality, especially one from HEC.
This will do:
Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling Silencer PPCS500 500W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Old 02-23-2009, 06:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raserei View Post