Building and the questions have started :) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2007, 11:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jermanfu View Post
I'm sorry, I didn't mention. I have Arctic Silver 5 compound.

Ok, I am at the connection of cables. If anyone is familiar with the antect 900 and my MOBO listed in the link above, where does the 1394 cable plug in? It isn't very apparent according to the MOBO manual.
TRy and get some different type of compound like MX-2

__________________

__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

Quote:
Ok, I am at the connection of cables. If anyone is familiar with the antect 900 and my MOBO listed in the link above, where does the 1394 cable plug in? It isn't very apparent according to the MOBO manual.
The P35 mobo's unfortunately do not have onboard support for 1394 aka firewire. If you really need it you'll need to buy a separate pci card for it, otherwise just let the cable hang loose or tuck it in somewhere lol.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
TRy and get some different type of compound like MX-2

how does that chart compare AS5 to your recommended mx-2? No offense but i don't care about mustard and toothpaste lol.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

Ok I am up and running!! No Immediate problems. Everything seems to be working fine. I have a couple of questions though.

How do I go about checking on my temps for my CPU and for my Video Card? My Nvidia control panel doesn't seem to have a temp setting like it did in XP (I might have just missed it).

Also, I am trying to update windows and it's giving me an error message and it won't let me update. Could this be a security issue with Vista?

So far so good guys! Once I get all the kinks out, I'll take Screenshots and post.
Jermanfu is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

coretemp for cpu i think is what most ppl use
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

RivaTuner for GPU temps and OC'ing.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 12:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

Thanks for the responses guys. Got Coretemp running. Temps are staying at around 32 23 26 32. So that seems ok for my CPU. Correct me if I'm wrong though.

Still can't figure out why it won't let me do windows update (giving me an error message).

Also I can't figure out where in the Rivatuner control panel I can look up GPU temps. Everything else seems to be running smooth so far other then that.
Jermanfu is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 01:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jermanfu View Post
Also I can't figure out where in the Rivatuner control panel I can look up GPU temps. Everything else seems to be running smooth so far other then that.
Open Riva, click on the top Customize button on the main page. You will then get 5 options. The 5th option is hardware monitoring. Click that and a new window will open up which you can customize for your viewing pleasure.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 02:36 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
how does that chart compare AS5 to your recommended mx-2? No offense but i don't care about mustard and toothpaste lol.
It doesn't it shows how good AS5 compares to your household products.
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 06:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Building and the questions have started :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
The P35 mobo's unfortunately do not have onboard support for 1394 aka firewire. If you really need it you'll need to buy a separate pci card for it, otherwise just let the cable hang loose or tuck it in somewhere lol.
im guessing only the x38 does, as my board supports it.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.